skip navigation

WIAA announces 2020 Scholar Athlete Award Recipients

04/23/2020, 9:00am CDT

From the WIAA -- 

Sixteen senior girls and 16 senior boys from Waunakee to Washburn have been selected as finalists to receive the Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association’s (WIAA) prestigious 2020 WIAA Statewide Scholar Athlete Award underwritten by Marshfield Children’s Hospital.  More than 1,100 Scholar Athlete finalists have been recognized since the program began in 1984.

To determine the top 32 finalists, four boys and four girls were selected (based on both athletic and academic achievement) from each of four WIAA divisions. “These extraordinary student athletes excel in both academics and athletics,” said Tom Shafranski, Assistant Director of the WIAA. “Sixteen of this year’s 32 WIAA Scholar Athlete finalists have a grade point average of 4.0 to date, while the average GPA is an amazing 3.94. All 32 scholar athlete finalists have already earned a total of 313 varsity letters during their first 3-1/2 years of high school. That’s an average of 10 letters per athlete.”

The 2020 WIAA Scholar Athlete Finalists will be recognized in a video to be posted May 15 on the WIAA website ( and broadcast statewide by Fox Sports on several dates to be announced. The video includes a special message from Alec Ingold, Las Vegas Raiders full back and former member of the Wisconsin Badger football team. Ingold, who graduated from Bay Port High School in Green Bay, was named a WIAA Scholar Athlete Finalist in 2015. Each 2020 WIAA Scholar Athlete Finalist will receive a medallion, a certificate, and a special plaque for display in their school’s trophy case.

Student athletes nominated for the award by their high school athletic directors, but not selected as one of the 32 statewide finalists, will be recognized locally by the school administration.

This year’s list of scholar athlete finalists features these items of interest:

Of the high schools submitting nominations this year, four schools had a WIAA Scholar Athlete Finalist for the first time in the 37-year history of the WIAA Scholar Athlete program.

  • Jadin O’Brien is the first WIAA Scholar Athlete Finalist from Divine Savior Holy Angels High School.
  • Zach Slevin is the first WIAA Scholar Athlete Finalist from La Crosse Logan High School.
  • Katelyn Kitzinger is the first WIAA Scholar Athlete Finalist from Marinette High School.
  • Skylar White is the first WIAA Scholar Athlete Finalist from River Ridge High School.
  • Aquinas High School produced two WIAA Scholar Athlete Finalists: Kayla Bahr and Zachary DeGroot.
  • Marissa Ellenbecker is the eleventh WIAA Scholar Athlete Finalist from Edgar High School.
  • Charles Motiff is the ninth WIAA Scholar Athlete Finalist from Washburn High School.
  • Max Schwabe is the ninth WIAA Scholar Athlete Finalist from Stratford High School.

2020 Scholar Athlete Finalists  


Devon Davey, Elkhorn, Elkhorn Area High School

Alec Martzhahl, Appleton, Kimberly High School

Marc Sippel, Wausau, Wausau West High School

Alex Vance, Oconomowoc, Oconomowoc High School


Anne Dotzler, Waunakee, Waunakee High School

Brittany Helm, Muskego, Muskego High School

Maya Novack, Milwaukee, Cedarburg High School

Jadin O’Brien, Milwaukee, Divine Savior Holy Angels High School*


Luke Fox, Waukesha, Catholic Memorial High School

Tommy Larson, Elkhorn, East Troy High School

Zach Slevin, La Crosse, La Crosse Logan High School*

Charlie Stuhl, Ellsworth, Ellsworth High School


Laura Beghin, Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin Dells High School

Izzy Carroll, Platteville, Platteville High School

Katelyn Kitzinger, Marinette, Marinette High School*

Linzy Sendelbach, Cochrane, Arcadia High School


Caden Chier, Berlin, Lourdes Academy

Zachary DeGroot, Onalaska, Aquinas High School

Isaac Lindsey, Mineral Point, Mineral Point High School

Max Schwabe, Stratford, Stratford High School


Kayla Bahr, Onalaska, Aquinas High School

Marissa Ellenbecker, Edgar, Edgar High School

Kameri Meredith, Elk Mound, Colfax High School

Skylar White, Mount Hope, River Ridge High School*


Logan Lillehaug, Frederic, Frederic High School

Matthew Marcinske, Birchwood, Birchwood High School

Charles Motiff, Washburn, Washburn High School

Jacob Reichmann, Wauzeka, Wauzeka-Steuben High School


Aubrey Schoeneman, Mercer, Mercer High School

Lauren Shields, Wausau, Newman Catholic High School

Lauren Steien, Taylor, Blair-Taylor High School

Kortnie Volk, Three Lakes, Three Lakes High School

*indicates that the student is that school’s first statewide winner.

Biographies of the nominated students can be found below.

Recent News

Tag(s): News  News Archive  News  News  News  News  News  News  News  News  Travis Wilson  WIAA  News