skip navigation

Jim Leonhard Award Pre-Season Watch List

09/10/2020, 11:00am CDT
By Travis Wilson

The Jim Leonhard Award is presented to the top senior defensive back as part of the WSN Senior Football Awards. The award is named after former Flambeau High School and University of Wisconsin athlete Jim Leonhard, who has gone on to great success in the NFL with the Baltimore Ravens, New York Jets, Buffalo Bills, Denver Broncos, New Orleans Saints, and Cleveland Browns. In 2016 he returned as an assistant coach at Wisconsin.

The pre-season list will be trimmed down to 25 semi-finalists halfway through the year, with five finalists chosen at the start of the playoffs. Winners are announced the week of the state finals.

The pre-season list will include all players, including those whose teams have moved to the alternate spring season. The remaining lists will feature only those programs who will play in the fall. We will review in the spring to determine if additional finalists or winners will be selected for the spring season.


First Name Last Name Team
Owen Arnett Arrowhead
Briar Barglind Kimberly
Clayton Bishop Kenosha Indian Trail
Carter Borchardt Stevens Point
C.J. Boyd University School
Cooper Bredlau Greenwood
Kyle Brewster Edgar
Javeonta Brown Waukesha North
Mason Buehler Muskego
JaVaughn Byrd Milwaukee King
Connor Cedenio Menomonee Falls
Isaac Cychosz Rosholt
Ayden Dauterman Slinger
Ezekial Diaz Waukesha South
Conor Dickrell Freedom
Matt Dykstra Randolph
Max Finger Oconomowoc
Nolan Gende Kettle Moraine
C.J. Grisar Waukesha West
Trace Grundahl DeForest
Jacob Hartlaub Martin Luther
Patrick Hauser Saint Francis
Nick Higley Eleva-Strum
Jackson Hilvers Hartford
Brandon Hoppman Benton/Scales Mound/Shullsburg
Ryan Kleinhans Whitehall
Dyson Klubertanz Franklin
Garrett Koxlien Osseo-Fairchild
Kaden Kroeplin Gilman
Dayton Lehman Mosinee
Patrick Lynch Menomonee Falls
Jack McKellips Lourdes Academy
Kyle Miller Waukesha West
Brandon Moeri Hudson
Cade Mullhollan Wilmot
Tyler Nachreiner River Valley
Jamison Nickolai Sheboygan Falls
Jonah O’Connor Stoughton
Alex Oechsner Catholic Memorial
Derek Oonk Oostburg
DeVauntaye Parker Menomonie
Zach Peterson Oak Creek
Sander Read University School
Jalen Reed Milwaukee King
Dayton Rozinski Milwaukee Reagan
Easton Scherer West Allis Hale
Sam Schradle Cumberland
Connor Shefchik Green Bay Preble
William Sherman Oconto
Miguel Smith Greendale
Bennett Spaeth De Pere
Josh Stormer Middleton
Colton Surek Medford
Braden Trunkel Neillsville
Elliot Turrentine Whitnall
Jon Verhasselt Freedom
Kaden Vernon Janesville Parker
Parker Weik Marshfield
Griffin Wiegel Kimberly
Hunter Wohler Muskego

About the Author

Travis Wilson serves as the General Manager, Football Editor, and contributing writer for other parts of the site. Wilson was selected as part of the Sports 40 Under 40 list by Coach & AD Magazine and the National High School Athletic Coaches Association for 2019. The Wisconsin Football Coaches Association (WFCA) named Travis the 2015 recipient of the Dave McClain Distinguished Service Award. He currently serves on the WFCA Executive Board as the Website and Communications Director and is a member of the Executive Board of the Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association. A graduate of Richland Center High School and Mount Mercy College in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, Travis was a three-sport athlete in high school (football, baseball, basketball) and currently resides in Reedsburg. You can follow him on Twitter at @travisWSN.

For the latest and most up to date football news and recruiting information, follow Travis on Twitter @travisWSN. Email story ideas, recruiting info, etc. to Travis at travis(at)

Football News

Tag(s): News Archive  News  Travis Wilson  Senior FB Awards