skip navigation

Black Hawk's Bailey Butler selected as state's top senior point guard

02/26/2021, 11:00am CST
By Norbert Durst

Bailey Butler at the 2021 WIAA state tournament

Black Hawk's Bailey Butler has been selected as the top senior Point Guard as part of the WSN Senior Basketball Awards

Butler is a dynamic point guard who affects the game on both ends of the floor. She can score at all three levels and has great court vision. Defensively, she is a strong on-ball defender who has quick hands and feet which leads to steals and deflections. 

She finished her career with a 103-2 record, which included four state tournament appearances. Butler helped lead the Warriors to the Division 5 state title as a sophomore, a state runner-up finish as a freshman, and trips to state as a junior (wiped out by COVID-19) and senior. 

Butler, a 5-foot-7 UW-Green Bay signee, averaged a state-best 28.3 points and 7.9 assists per game, was third in steals with 6.2 per game. She also tallied 7.8 rebounds per game for coach Mike Flanagan and the Warriors. 

She shot 55.3 percent from the floor, 75.8 percent from the free throw line, and connected on 72 three-pointers. 

Black Hawk entered the state tournament with a 75-game winning streak, which was the third-longest winning streak in girls' basketball state history. 

The Warriors fell to Three Lakes, 51-48, in a Division 5 state semifinal to finish the year with a 21-1 record. 

Butler finished her career as Black Hawk's all-time leading scorer with 1,960 points. She also tallied 562 assists and 565 steals in her illustrious career. 

Finalists for the award were Butler, Nikki Dienberg of New Berlin Eisenhower, Olivia Gamoke of Onalaska, Natalie Jens of Beaver Dam, Isabella Lenz of Prescott, Olivia Rangel of Franklin, and CJ Romero of Brookfield Central. 

Past winners of the award include Lexi Donarski of Aquinas (2020), Sydney Hilliard of Monroe (2019), Kari Brekke of Appleton North (2018), Cassidy Trotter of Beaver Dam (2017), Hannah Whitish of Barneveld (2016), Gabby Green of Pius XI (2015), Gabrielle Ortiz of The Prairie School (2014), Taylor Schmidt of Algoma (2013), and Nicole Bauman of New Berlin Eisenhower (2012).

WSN Senior Basketball Awards are selected by staff.

For the latest and most up to date girls' basketball news and recruiting information, follow Norbert on Twitter @NorbertDurst. Email story ideas, recruiting info, etc. to Norbert

Tag(s): News Archive  GBB News  Senior Awards  Norbert Durst