skip navigation

Elroy "Crazylegs" Hirsch Award Pre-Season Watch List

08/17/2021, 11:15pm CDT
By Travis Wilson

The Elroy "Crazylegs" Hirsch Award is presented annually to the state's top senior running back as part of the WSN Senior Football Awards. The award is named after former Wausau High School athlete Elroy "Crazylegs" Hirsch, who went on to play for the University of Wisconsin and the University of Michigan before starring at end in the NFL for 12 seasons. He is a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame, the National High School Hall of Fame, and later went on to serve as Wisconsin's athletic director from 1969 to 1987. 

The pre-season list will be trimmed down to about 25 semi-finalists halfway through the year, with five finalists chosen at the start of the playoffs. Winners are announced the week of the state finals. 


First Last Team
Jake Adams Mukwonago
Obacoso Allen Catholic Memorial
Brock Babiash D.C. Everest
Mehki Baradji Necedah
Chase Barth Cuba City
Simon Bauer Durand
Max Blamey Hurley
Gage Boegli Brodhead/Juda
Will Boettcher Peshtigo
Brycen Cashin Pacelli
Trey Colts Cambridge
Stephen Connell Lake Country Lutheran
Tyler Dormanen Boyceville
Dylan Elsing Poynette
Bryce Frank Marshall
Sam Galoff Brillion
Aiden Gardner Medford
Joseph Gardner Campbellsport
Jack Genzmer Ozaukee
Colton Geurink Wausau West
Max Grand Ellsworth
Elijah Gray Middleton
Cameron Hahn Ripon
Lucas Heyroth Lodi
Darrick Hill Stoughton
Bryce Hillers Richland Center
Carson Holman Muskego
Wyatt Jensen Luck
Avery Kaanta Elk Mound
Adam Lemery Marinette
Cody Leonard Laconia
Weston Liebzeit Reedsville
Alijah Maher Parr Arrowhead
Aaron Maroszek Pulaski
Cal Martine Appleton North
Dominick McVay Mineral Point
Stephen Munson North Crawford
Cayden Neri Rhinelander
Mathieu Oesterle Bangor
Joe Ollman Homestead
Braeden Ott Nicolet
Dayo Oye Saint Croix Falls
Dan Peterson Brookwood
Isaac Quimby Grantsburg
Tanner Rivard Franklin
Connor Roloff Cedarburg
Tobey Sayeg West Allis Hale
Jed Scallon Ithaca
Daniel Schmitz Kiel
Jakob Simmons Westosha Central
Davontre Smith Menasha
Ryan Sokup Arcadia
Ashton Spitzack Potosi-Cassville
Jamarionta Spraggins Racine Horlick
Ty Strehlow D.C. Everest
Riley Taylor Oshkosh West
Gus Theisen Regis
Isaac Vandenbush Luxemburg-Casco
Kyle Wiseman Adams-Friendship
Eugene Wolff Waterloo
Cordero Ysquierdo Nekoosa

About the Author

Travis Wilson serves as the General Manager, Football Editor, and contributing writer for other parts of the site. Wilson was selected as part of the Sports 40 Under 40 list by Coach & AD Magazine and the National High School Athletic Coaches Association for 2019. The Wisconsin Football Coaches Association (WFCA) named Travis the 2015 recipient of the Dave McClain Distinguished Service Award. He currently serves on the WFCA Executive Board as the Website and Communications Director and is a member of the Executive Board of the Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association. A graduate of Richland Center High School and Mount Mercy College in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, Travis was a three-sport athlete in high school (football, baseball, basketball) and currently resides in Reedsburg. You can follow him on Twitter at @travisWSN.

For the latest and most up to date football news and recruiting information, follow Travis on Twitter @travisWSN. Email story ideas, recruiting info, etc. to Travis at travis(at)

Football News

Tag(s): News Archive  News  Travis Wilson  Senior FB Awards