skip navigation

Myles Burkett of Franklin selected to receive Dave Krieg Award

11/17/2021, 8:00am CST
By Travis Wilson

Wisconsin Sports Network and are happy to announce Franklin's Myles Burkett as the 2021 recipient of the Dave Krieg Award as the most outstanding senior quarterback in Wisconsin, part of the WSN Senior Football Awards.

Myles Burkett took over as the starter in 2019 as a sophomore and has helped the Sabers to great success in his three years on varsity. In his senior season he is completing 71.4% of his passes (190-of-266) for 3,151 yards with 33 touchdowns and just two interceptions. He also has four rushing scores this year.

He was amazing in engineering a big comeback in Week 1 at Appleton North, including a successful Hail Mary on the game's final play for a 35-31 win where he threw for 368 yards with five touchdowns. In another comeback victory over Appleton North in the state semi-finals, Burkett threw for 356 yards and two scores.

In his career the Badger recruit and returning WFCA All-State selection has 6,207 passing yards with 68 touchdowns and a passer rating of 129.9. He's added 14 rushing scores as well.

"He is a great character kid who has developed into a tremendous leader," said Franklin head coach Louis Brown.

On Tuesday, Burkett was announced as a repeat selection on the WFCA All-State team as well as the 2021 WFCA Large Schools Offensive Player of the Year.

Finalists for the award were Burkett, Luke Haertle of Lake Country Lutheran, Quentin Keene of Waunakee, Robby Michael of Kohler/Sheboygan Lutheran/Christian, and Ben Wesolowski of Wittenberg-Birnamwood.

Past winners of the award include Oshkosh West's Trey Demler (2009), Franklin's Lance Baretz (2010), West De Pere's Jay Tollefson (2011), Watertown's Tarek Yaeggi (2012), Xavier's Matt Ferris (2013), Brown Deer's Zack Baun (2014), Amherst's Garrett Groshek (2015), Kimberly's Danny Vanden Boom (2016), Franklin's Max Alba (2017), Kimberly's Cody Staerkel (2018), La Crosse Central's Johnny Davis (2019), and Lake Mills' Adam Moen (2020).

The award is named after Dave Krieg, a graduate of D.C. Everest High School who went on to star at Milton College and later in the National Football League. Krieg ranks in the Top 12 in NFL history in career pass attempts, completions, passing yards, and passing touchdowns. He was selected to the Pro Bowl three times in his 12-year career.

The voting panel for the WSN Senior Football Awards consisted of:  Travis Wilson, WSN General Manager and Head Football Writer;  Norbert Durst, WSN Content Manager; Dennis Semrau, ESPN Madison; B.J. DeGroot, WSCO The Score 95.3 in Appleton; Curt Hogg, NOW Newspapers; Dan Barwick, WSN Contributor; Colton Wilson, WSN Content Producer; Fan Vote

About the Author

Travis Wilson serves as the General Manager, Football Editor, and contributing writer for other parts of the site. Wilson was selected as part of the Sports 40 Under 40 list by Coach & AD Magazine and the National High School Athletic Coaches Association for 2019. The Wisconsin Football Coaches Association (WFCA) named Travis the 2015 recipient of the Dave McClain Distinguished Service Award. He currently serves on the WFCA Executive Board as the Website and Communications Director and is a member of the Executive Board of the Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association. A graduate of Richland Center High School and Mount Mercy College in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, Travis was a three-sport athlete in high school (football, baseball, basketball) and currently resides in Reedsburg. You can follow him on Twitter at @travisWSN.

For the latest and most up to date football news and recruiting information, follow Travis on Twitter @travisWSN. Email story ideas, recruiting info, etc. to Travis at travis(at)

Tag(s): News Archive  News  Travis Wilson  Senior FB Awards