skip navigation

Howards Grove's Barnstable picked as state's top senior shooter

03/24/2022, 12:30pm CDT
By Mark Miller

Miles Barnstable

Miles Barnstable of Howards Grove has been selected as the top senior Shooter as part of the WSN Senior Basketball Awards

After sitting out the varsity season last winter due to WIAA transfer rules after enrolling at Howards Grove from Sheboygan Lutheran, Barnstable earned Player of the Year laurels in the Big East Conference.

He averaged 26.9 points, 7.9 rebounds, 3.3 assists and 2.6 steals while helping Howards Grove to a 23-5 record and a spot in the WIAA Division 4 sectional finals. 

Barnstable shot 51 percent from the field, 82 percent from the foul line (129 of 148) and 41 percent (94 of 229) from three-point range. 

He scored a career-high 42 points in a 93-70 victory at Saint Mary Catholic while making 17-of-27 shots from the field and connecting on seven-of-10 attempts outside the three-point arc. He also scored 39 points and made nine-of-13 shots from outside the arc in a triumph over Cedar Grove. 

Schools currently showing interest in Barnstable include NCAA Division I Green Bay, Division II Hillsdale and Division III Carroll, Eau Claire, Lakeland, Marian, Oshkosh, Stevens Point and Whitewater. 

Finalists for the award were Barnstable, Jaden Koeller of Marathon, Koy Nelson of South Shore, Drew Reindl of Saint Thomas More and Craig Ward of Marshall. 

Past winners of the award include Joe Reuter of Chippewa Falls (2021), Aidan Clarey of Brookfield Academy (2020), Henry Noone of Lourdes Academy (2019), Drew Blair of Stevens Point (2018), Ryan Krueger of Hortonville (2017), Trev Anderson of Stevens Point (2016), Brevin Pritzl of De Pere (2015), Brady Ellingson of Sussex Hamilton (2014), Matt Thomas of Onalaska (2013), and Tyson Kalien of Chippewa Falls (2012).

WSN Senior Basketball Awards are selected by staff.

Recent Boys Basketball Award Articles

Tag(s): News Archive  BBB News  Senior Awards  Mark Miller