skip navigation

Elroy "Crazylegs" Hirsch Award Semi-Finalists

09/20/2022, 10:00am CDT
By Travis Wilson

Mondovi running back Dawson Rud

The Elroy "Crazylegs" Hirsch Award is given annually to the state's top senior running back as part of the WSN Senior Football Awards presented by Taco Bell. The award is named after former Wausau High School athlete Elroy "Crazylegs" Hirsch, who went on to play for the University of Wisconsin and the University of Michigan before starring at end in the NFL for 12 seasons. He is a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame, the National High School Hall of Fame, and later went on to serve as Wisconsin's athletic director from 1969 to 1987.
The pre-season list has been trimmed down to 25 semi-finalists, with five finalists chosen after Level 1 of the playoffs. Winners are announced the week of the state finals.


First Last Team
Trevor Asher Elmwood/Plum City
Colin Boyarski Altoona
Leo Brostowitz Wisconsin Rapids
Cole Buttke Berlin
Vidal Colon University School
Noah Deibert Hartford
Tre Engram Verona
Caden Healy Colby
Alex Hernandez Monroe
Levi Huempfner Saint Mary’s Springs
Jase Jenkins Neenah
Tanner Jones Bangor
Devin Judd Reedsburg
Tanner Kaufman Northwestern
Owen Kinziger Coleman
Cortez LeGrant Sun Prairie East
Justice Lovelace Kenosha Indian Trail
Lucas Milz Black Hawk/Warren
Najeh Mitchell West De Pere
Drew Nagy Arrowhead
Colin O’Neil Cashton
Brayden Reimer Roncalli
Dawson Rud Mondovi
Blake Schraufnagel Mayville
Wynn Stang Mukwonago
Sam Steuber Muskego
Keatin Sweeney Monroe
Andrew Trandahl New Richmond
Jack Weisenberger Regis
Nate White Milwaukee King

To view the Pre-Season Watch List, click here.
Finalists for the award do not have to come from the semi-finalist list. Lists are compiled from statistical information available to WSN, coach nominations, player evaluations, and other resources.

About the Author

Travis Wilson serves as the General Manager, Football Editor, and contributing writer for other parts of the site. Wilson was selected as part of the Sports 40 Under 40 list by Coach & AD Magazine and the National High School Athletic Coaches Association for 2019. The Wisconsin Football Coaches Association (WFCA) named Travis the 2015 recipient of the Dave McClain Distinguished Service Award. He currently serves on the WFCA Executive Board as the Website and Communications Director and is a member of the Executive Board of the Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association. A graduate of Richland Center High School and Mount Mercy College in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, Travis was a three-sport athlete in high school (football, baseball, basketball) and currently resides in Reedsburg. You can follow him on Twitter at @travisWSN.

For the latest and most up to date football news and recruiting information, follow Travis on Twitter @travisWSN. Email story ideas, recruiting info, etc. to Travis at travis(at)

Football News

Tag(s): News Archive  News  Travis Wilson  Senior FB Awards