skip navigation

Davin Stoffel of Mosinee selected to receive Al Toon Award

11/16/2022, 10:00am CST
By Travis Wilson

Wisconsin Sports Network and are happy to announce Mosinee's Davin Stoffel as the 2022 recipient of the Al Toon Award as the most outstanding senior wide receiver in Wisconsin, part of the WSN Senior Football Awards.

Davin Stoffel lines up all over the formation for Mosinee, from a split end to tight end to the slot. Regardless of where he lines up, he makes an impact in all facets.

In addition to being an elite down field blocker and excellent run blocker, the 6'6", 215-pound Stoffel caught 51 passes for 1,012 yards and 17 touchdowns. The South Dakota State tight end recruit is also a standout linebacker for the Indians.

"Davin is a two-year captain for our team and is a strong leader both on and off the field," said Mosinee head coach Kyle Stoffel, his father. "He is our vocal leader and leads by example with his hard work on the field, in the weight room, in the classroom, and in the community. His play and leadership has led our team to back-to-back 7-0 conference championships."

Finalists for the award were Stoffel, DeMarcus Conner of Belleville, Gabe Egan of Cedar Grove-Belgium, Noah Heinen of Kohler/Sheboygan Lutheran/Christian, and Jonathan Vande Walle of Sun Prairie East.

Past winners of the award include Madison Memorial's Lechein Neblett (2009), Monona Grove's Zach Zweifel (2010), Montello/Princeton/Green Lake's Matt Sosinsky (2011), Black River Falls' Jordan Millis (2012), Greendale's Mitchell Brees (2013), Marquette's Jake Matkovich (2014), Kimberly's Jordan Janssen (2015), Oconomowoc's Zach Clayton (2016), Lake Mills' Hayden Iverson (2017), Waunakee's Sawyer Maly (2018), Waukesha North's Chimere Dike (2019), Cumberland's Jack Martens (2020), and Cedar Grove-Belgium's Sam Peiffer (2021).

The award is named after Al Toon, a graduate of the University of Wisconsin who still ranks in the top three or four of almost all game, season, and career receiving categories. Toon was a first-round draft choice by the New York Jets who led the NFL in catches in 1988 with 93. Injuries forced him to retire early from the NFL, but he has been a fixture back in the Madison area for many years. 

The voting panel for the WSN Senior Football Awards consisted of:  Travis Wilson, WSN General Manager and Head Football Writer;  Norbert Durst, WSN Content Manager; Dennis Semrau, ESPN Madison; Jonathan Krause, WSCO The Score 95.3 in Appleton; Jimmie Kaska, WEAU in Eau Claire; Dan Barwick, WSN Contributor; Colton Wilson, WSN Content Producer; Fan Vote

About the Author

Travis Wilson serves as the General Manager, Football Editor, and contributing writer for other parts of the site. Wilson was selected as part of the Sports 40 Under 40 list by Coach & AD Magazine and the National High School Athletic Coaches Association for 2019. The Wisconsin Football Coaches Association (WFCA) named Travis the 2015 recipient of the Dave McClain Distinguished Service Award. He currently serves on the WFCA Executive Board as the Website and Communications Director and is a member of the Executive Board of the Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association. A graduate of Richland Center High School and Mount Mercy College in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, Travis was a three-sport athlete in high school (football, baseball, basketball) and currently resides in Reedsburg. You can follow him on Twitter at @travisWSN.

For the latest and most up to date football news and recruiting information, follow Travis on Twitter @travisWSN. Email story ideas, recruiting info, etc. to Travis at travis(at)

Tag(s): News Archive  News  Travis Wilson  Senior FB Awards