skip navigation

Sam Coufal of Kettle Moraine selected to receive Tim Krumrie Award

11/16/2022, 12:00pm CST
By Travis Wilson

Wisconsin Sports Network and are proud to announce Kettle Moraine's Sam Coufal as the 2022 recipient of the Tim Krumrie Award as the most outstanding senior defensive lineman in Wisconsin, part of the WSN Senior Football Awards.

Sam Coufal has been one of the most disruptive linemen in the state this year, recording 104 tackles from his defensive line spot. That includes an incredible 39 tackles for loss with 8.5 sacks.

"Sam is the most dominant lineman I have ever coached," said head coach Mathew McDonnell. "He has the best motor and went up against some of the very best offensive linemen in the state. He has turned into a tremendous leader for us this year as well."

Coufal was recently named a WFCA Large School All-State selection as the Lasers are into the Division 2 state championship game.

Finalists for the award were Coufal, Connor Akey of Wisconsin Rapids, Evan Herrmann of Sussex Hamilton, Brent Hoppe of Turner, Will McDonald of Hudson, and Noah Moris of Union Grove.

Past winners of the award include Kimberly's Mike Hardy (2009), Edgar's Jeff Raymond (2010), Marshfield's Trevor Peterson (2011), Brookfield East's Alec James (2012), Arrowhead's Billy Hirschfeld (2013), Homestead's David Pfaff (2014), Amherst's Tyler Biadasz (2015), Franklin's Hawk Wimmer (2016), Kimberly's Boyd Dietzen (2017), Waunakee's Reed Ryan (2018), Stratford's Ben Barten (2019), Homestead's Ayo Adebogun (2020), and Sun Prairie's Isaac Hamm (2021).

The award is named after Tim Krumrie, a graduate of Mondovi High School who went on to play for the University of Wisconsin and 12 seasons in the National Football League. Krumrie walked-on to the Badger football team, but quickly made an impression. He led the Badgers in tackles all four years, and was a three-time All-Big Ten selection. He still holds the all-time record for solo tackles and is third on the total tackles list. Drafted in the 10th round by the Cincinnati Bengals, Krumrie played in all 16 games as a rookie and went on to start 161 games in his career. He made the Pro Bowl in 1987 and 1988, and helped the Bengals to the Super Bowl in 1989. He served as the defensive line coach for the Kansas City Chiefs for four seasons after three years with the Buffalo Bills and eight seasons with the Cincinnati Bengals.

The voting panel for the WSN Senior Football Awards consisted of:  Travis Wilson, WSN General Manager and Head Football Writer;  Norbert Durst, WSN Content Manager; Dennis Semrau, ESPN Madison; Jonathan Krause, WSCO The Score 95.3 in Appleton; Jimmie Kaska, WEAU in Eau Claire; Dan Barwick, WSN Contributor; Colton Wilson, WSN Content Producer; Fan Vote

About the Author

Travis Wilson serves as the General Manager, Football Editor, and contributing writer for other parts of the site. Wilson was selected as part of the Sports 40 Under 40 list by Coach & AD Magazine and the National High School Athletic Coaches Association for 2019. The Wisconsin Football Coaches Association (WFCA) named Travis the 2015 recipient of the Dave McClain Distinguished Service Award. He currently serves on the WFCA Executive Board as the Website and Communications Director and is a member of the Executive Board of the Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association. A graduate of Richland Center High School and Mount Mercy College in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, Travis was a three-sport athlete in high school (football, baseball, basketball) and currently resides in Reedsburg. You can follow him on Twitter at @travisWSN.

For the latest and most up to date football news and recruiting information, follow Travis on Twitter @travisWSN. Email story ideas, recruiting info, etc. to Travis at travis(at)

Tag(s): News Archive  News  Travis Wilson  Senior FB Awards