skip navigation

Recap of 2023 Girls Basketball State Tournament with All-Tournament Team

03/17/2023, 11:30am CDT
By Norbert Durst

WSN Basketball Playoff Coverage presented by the Buckle Up Phone Down Pledge

Join the Buckle Up Phone Down movement! WisDOT challenges Wisconsin to put safety first by taking the two most important actions to prevent or survive a crash. Accept the Buckle Up Phone Down challenge. Use your seat belt every trip and put down the phone when driving. Take the Buckle Up Phone Down pledge!

The 47th annual Girls Basketball State Tournament was held March 9-11 at the Resch Center in Green Bay. 

Kewaskum, Laconia, and McDonell Central all won their first state title. Kettle Moraine has three gold balls in program history after repeating as D1 state champions, and Notre Dame has five WIAA state titles after winning its third consecutive D2 state title. 

WSN Tournament Central - results, box scores, stories, and more 

Division 1

Kettle Moraine won its second consecutive Division 1 state championship. The Lasers defeated Brookfield East in the title game, 47-40. They are the first team to repeat as D1 state champions since Appleton North (2017, 2018) completed the feat five years ago. Kettle Moraine now has three state titles in eight appearances at the WIAA state tournament. Head coach Todd Hansen has compiled a 357-103 record in his career, guiding the Lasers to back-to-back state championships. The Lasers were ranked No. 2 in the WSN Preseason Rankings. Kettle Moraine won their final 19 games of the 2022-23 season. 

Division 1 Semifinals: 
Brookfield East over Germantown, 65-60 (Game Notes
Kettle Moraine over Hortonville, 77-67 (Game Notes

Division 2

Notre Dame claimed its third straight Division 2 state championship. The Tritons beat Pewaukee, 64-49, in the title game, the second consecutive year the teams have met in the championship game. Notre Dame is the sixth team in girls’ basketball state history to capture three consecutive WIAA state titles, joining Beaver Dam (2017-19), Milwaukee Vincent (2007-09, Flambeau (2006-08), Cuba City (2005-07), and Milwaukee Washington (1994-96). Head coach Sara Rohde, 259-63 career record, is one of just four coaches in girls' basketball state history with at least five state titles, joining Jeff Pustina of Cuba City (9), Jim Myers of Barneveld (6), and Pam Kruse of Milwaukee Washington (5). Notre Dame has five WIAA state titles in 10 trips to the state tournament. The Tritons were ranked No. 1 in the WSN Preseason Rankings. Notre Dame will enter the 2023-24 season with a 29-game winning streak. 

Division 2 Semifinals: 
Pewaukee over Lakeland, 80-63 (Game Notes
Notre Dame over McFarland, 76-70 (Game Notes

Division 3

Kewaskum captured its first state title in program history, topping Milwaukee Academy of Science, 55-51, in the Division 3 state championship game. The Indians had two previous trips to the state tournament but none since 1982. Head coach Mark Maley, 392-155 career record, guides the Indians to the state title in his first year as their head coach. Kewaskum was ranked No. 3 in the WSN Preseason Rankings. The Indians won their final 14 games of the season. 

Division 3 Semifinals: 
Milwaukee Academy of Science over Waupun, 64-57 (Game Notes)
Kewaskum over West Salem, 46-34 (Game Notes

Division 4

Laconia took home the program’s first gold ball, knocking off Aquinas, 64-51, in the Division 4 state title game. The Spartans finished as the state runner-up in their previous two trips to the state tournament, including last season when they lost to undefeated Mineral Point in the title game. Head coach Chris Morgan, 221-101 career record, has compiled a 216-64 record as the Spartans’ leader. Laconia was ranked No. 4 in the WSN Preseason Rankings. The Spartans won their final nine games of the season. 

Division 4 Semifinals: 
Aquinas over Mishicot, 79-55 (Game Notes
Laconia over Colfax, 58-36 (Game Notes

Division 5

McDonell Central claimed its first WIAA state title in team history, beating Blair-Taylor, 61-46, in the Division 5 state championship game. The Macks win the state title after falling in state semifinals the previous two seasons, their only other appearances at the WIAA state tournament. Head coach Don Cooper, 181-121 career record, is 159-72 as the Macks leader. McDonell Central was ranked No. 2 in the WSN Preseason Rankings. The Macks won their final seven games of the season. 

Division 5 Semifinals: 
McDonell Central over Albany, 59-20 (Game Notes
Blair-Taylor over Wabeno/Laona, 55-26 (Game Notes)


Madi Dogs, 6-0, Sr., Kewaskum 
Trista Fayta, 5-7, Jr., Notre Dame 
Grace Grocholski, 5-10, Sr., Kettle Moraine 
Gracie Grzesk, 5-10, Jr., Notre Dame 
Shae Kelley, 5-10. Jr., Brookfield East 
Teagan Mallegni, 6-1, Jr., McFarland 
Amy Terrian, 5-8, Jr., Pewaukee 
Braelyn Torres, 5-8, Sr., Kettle Moraine 
Beautiful Waheed, 5-10, Sr., Milwaukee Academy of Science 
Rainey Welson, 5-9, Soph., Hortonville  

MVP: Grace Grocholski, Kettle Moraine 

Honorable Mention 
Morgan Adams, 6-0, Sr., Kewaskum 
KK Arnold, 5-10, Sr., Germantown 
Hope Barington, 5-9, Sr., Notre Dame 
Briana Binagi, 5-11, Jr.,  Kettle Moraine 
Emily Cooper, 5-8, Jr., McDonell Central 
Samantha Davis, 5-10, Frosh., Aquinas 
Ava Dean, 5-8, Jr., McFarland 
Macy Donarski, 5-8, Sr., Aquinas 
Aubrey Dorn, 6-0, Jr., McDonell Central 
Lalani Ellis, 5-9, Sr., Milwaukee Academy of Science 
Riley Haertle, 5-5, Jr., Kettle Moraine 
Madeline Jakusz, 5-10, Soph., Germantown 
Megan Johnson, West Salem 
Reece Keel, 5-9, Sr., Laconia
Maya Kovacic, Brookfield East
Autumn Passehl, 5-7, Aquinas 
Aubrey Leonard, 5-8, Soph., Laconia 
Tierney Madigan, 5-10, Soph., Laconia 
Trinity Mocadlo, Hortonville 
Payton Morgan, 5-10, Soph., Laconia
Peyton Musial, Soph., Notre Dame
Julianna Ouimette, 5-10, Sr., Lakeland 
Kayl Petersen, 6-1, Jr., Waupun 
Annika Pluemer, Brookfield East
McKenna Shipman, Colfax 
Lindsay Steiein, 5-9, Sr., Blair-Taylor
Julia Steger, 5-7, Sr., Kewaskum 
Anna Terrian, 5-8, Jr., Pewaukee
Abby Thompson, 5-6, Sr., Blair-Taylor
Kailey Tulachka, 6-0, Sr., Mishioct 
Giselle Janowski, 5-8, Frosh., Pewaukee
Mady VandeStreek, 5-7, Jr., Waupun 
MiKayla Werner, 6-0, Jr., Hortonville 
Sydney Whitehouse, 5-7, Jr., Notre Dame  

Tag(s): News Archive  GBB News  Norbert Durst  Girls Hoops Playoffs