skip navigation

De Pere's Kinziger picked as state's top senior point guard

03/22/2023, 12:45pm CDT
By Mark Miller

De Pere's John Kinziger has been selected as the top senior Point Guard as part of the WSN Senior Basketball Awards

The catalyst behind De Pere's 30-0 record and run to the WIAA Division 1 state title, Kinziger turned in a terrific senior season to cap off a remarkable four-year high school career.

The 6-foot-0 guard averaged 18.8 points while shooting 61 percent from the field, 94 percent from the free throw line and 44 percent from three-point range. 

Kinziger also contributed 5.3 rebounds, 5.5 assists and 2.0 steals while providing outstanding senior leadership for a very talented and efficient team. 

The Illinois State recruit was at his best in the Redbirds' biggest games. He scored 19 points, grabbed 14 rebounds and dished out seven assists when De Pere defeated WIAA Division 2 state champion Pewaukee 70-63 on Feb. 11. 

In the state-title game victory over Arrowhead, Kinziger had 24 points, three assists, two steals and two rebounds. He completed his career with 2,134 points to rank 30th all-time in state scoring. 

Finalists for the award were Kinziger, Seth Bunders of Wauzeka-Steuben, Gavyn Hurley of Middleton, Mason Prey of Newman Catholic and Luther Smith Jr., of Sussex Hamilton. 

Past winners of the award include Max Weisbrod (2022), Brian Parzych of Wauwatosa East (2021), Max Klesmit of Neenah (2020), Jaeden Zackery of Westosha Central (2019), Jordan McCabe of Kaukauna (2018), Bailey Kale of La Crosse Central (2017), Te'Jon Lucas of Milwaukee Washington (2016), Darrell Riley of Milwaukee North (2015), Riley LaChance of Brookfield Central (2014), Duane Wilson of Dominican (2013), and Carrington Love of Pius XI Catholic (2012).

WSN Senior Basketball Awards are selected by staff.

Recent Boys Basketball Award Articles

Tag(s): News Archive  BBB News  Senior Awards  Mark Miller