skip navigation

Dave Krieg Award Semi-Finalists

09/21/2011, 9:00pm CDT
By Travis Wilson

The Dave Krieg Award is given annually to the state's top senior quarterback as part of the WSN Senior Football Awards presented by Taco Bell. The award is named after former D.C. Everest and Milton College athlete Dave Krieg, who went on to play 12 seasons in the NFL and still ranks in the Top 15 all-time in most passing categories. 

The pre-season list has been trimmed down to 25 semi-finalists, with five finalists chosen at the conclusion of the regular season. Winners are announced the week of the state finals. 

Dave Krieg Award Semi-Finalist List:

Elliot Ashbeck, Marshfield
Cody Berger, Homestead
Brandon Berghoefer, Waukesha West
Sam Brick, Greendale
Kyle Cody, McDonell Central
Hunter Darger, Waunakee
Tanner Dixon, Manitowoc Lincoln
Drew Dunkleberger, Fort Atkinson
John Eagan, Wautoma
Logan Emmendorfer, Platteville
Braden Foss, Montello/Princeton/Green Lake
Joe Greif, Marquette University
Matt Knapp, Eau Claire Memorial
Aaron Koerner, Colby
Jason Meichtry, Brookfield Central
Luke Mentkowski, Whitnall
Chris Nelson, Wilmot
Jake Nelson, Milwaukee Lutheran
Ryan Saeger, Arrowhead
Nate Schmidt, Pardeeville
Shawn Shillcox, Two Rivers
Neico Stokke, Menomonie
Jay Tollefson, West De Pere
Mitch Weiland, Tomah
Seth White, Madison Edgewood

* Vince Breitzke of Wisconsin Heights would have been a candidate for the list but suffered a season-ending injury in last Friday's game.

To view the Pre-Season Watch List, click here.

Finalists for the award do not have to come from the semi-finalist list. Lists are compiled from statistical information available to WSN, coach nominations, player evaluations, and other resources.

Tag(s): News  Travis Wilson  Senior FB Awards