skip navigation

Al Toon Award Semi-Finalists

09/22/2011, 1:00pm CDT
By Travis Wilson

The Al Toon Award is given annually to the state's top senior wide receiver or tight end as part of the WSN Senior Football Awards presented by Taco Bell. The award is named after former University of Wisconsin athlete Al Toon, who went on to play in the NFL for several very successful seasons before multiple concussions ended his career early. Toon is an active member of the community in the Madison area both in the business world and in various charitable endeavors.

The pre-season list has been trimmed down to 25 semi-finalists, with five finalists chosen at the conclusion of the regular season. Winners are announced the week of the state finals.

Al Toon Award Semi-Finalist List:

Ryan Baier, McDonell Central
David Bast, Platteville
Adam Bielmeier, Cumberland
Jason Castona, Westosha Central
Eric Curtis, Pardeeville
Kirk Emmer, Slinger
Brent Esser, D.C. Everest
Kevin Folker, Milwaukee Lutheran
Jordan Forrest, West De Pere
Cole Franklin, Tomah
Adam Fritsch, Appleton West
Spencer Froemming, Bonduel
Austin Haugestuen, Barron
Marcus Hudson, Delavan-Darien
Sammy Leisz, Amery
Matt Misiewicz, Milwaukee Marquette
Teontae Morgan, Cudahy
Jamar Morris, Madison Memorial
Thomas Murray, Sheboygan South
Stephen Pelkofer, Whitnall
Brett Pozolinski, Kimberly
Jordan Roosa, Mosinee
Hayden Schliem, Black Hawk
Matt Sosinsky, Montello/Princeton/Green Lake
John Stawski, Martin Luther

To view the Pre-Season Watch List, click here.

Finalists for the award do not have to come from the semi-finalist list. Lists are compiled from statistical information available to WSN, coach nominations, player evaluations, and other resources.

Tag(s): News  Travis Wilson  Senior FB Awards