skip navigation

Al Toon Award Semi-Finalists

09/27/2012, 12:30pm CDT
By Travis Wilson
WSN Football Senior Awards
The Al Toon Award is given annually to the state's top senior wide receiver or tight end as part of the WSN Senior Football Awards presented by Taco Bell. The award is named after former University of Wisconsin athlete Al Toon, who went on to play in the NFL for several very successful seasons before multiple concussions ended his career early. Toon is an active member of the community in the Madison area both in the business world and in various charitable endeavors.
The pre-season list has been trimmed down to 25 semi-finalists, with five finalists chosen after the Level 1 playoffs. Winners are announced the week of the state finals.
Al Toon Award Semi-Finalist List:
Matt Christensen, Wilmot
Pietro D'Amato, Brown Deer
Jacob Demman, Lake Country Lutheran
Vince Dinkel, Marathon
Nate Dodge, East Troy
Eric Feldner, Saint Mary's Springs
Isaiah Frandsen, Barron
Matt Johnson, Cedarburg
Joe Koenecke, Cameron
Evan Marlowe, South Milwaukee
Sam Mentkowski, Whitnall
Jordan Millis, Black River Falls
Brett Minick, DeForest
Kellen Murphy, Lake Mills
Cody Nyhagen, Saint Croix Central
Jazz Peavy, Kenosha Tremper
Zach Poker, Oconomowoc
Kyle Steffen, Turtle Lake
Dakota Tarnow, Elk Mound
Jester Weah, Madison Memorial
Shane Wimann, Wisconsin Dells
Patrick Wyrowski, Whitnall
Tim Yager, Prairie du Chien
Cody Zaeske, East Troy
Sam Zwieg, Watertown
To view the Pre-Season Watch List, click here.
Finalists for the award do not have to come from the semi-finalist list. Lists are compiled from statistical information available to WSN, coach nominations, player evaluations, and other resources. 

Tag(s): News Archive  News  Travis Wilson  Senior FB Awards