skip navigation

WBCA Names D4 Boys All-State Team

03/07/2013, 7:45pm CST

Diamond Stone of Dominican

Duane Wilson and Diamond Stone of Dominican and Tyler Semenas of Laconia lead the way as unanimous selections to the Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association Division 4 All-State Team.

Wilson, Semenas, Jerrelle Deberry of Destiny and Austin Hawkins of Auburndale are repeat first-team picks from a year ago. 

Wilson (6-2) is a dynamic point guard who can soar above defenders for one-handed dunks or knock down three-point shots with deep range. The Marquette-bound Wilson is a four-year varsity performer who averaged 23.4 ppg, 4.7 apg and 4.4 rpg as a senior while leading Dominican to the title in the Metro Classic Conference and a berth in the WIAA State Tournament.   

Stone (6-9) is ranked first among prospects nationally in the class of 2015 by and is a dominant force around the basket. A two-year varsity starter at Dominican, Stone averaged 17.0 ppg and 11.3 rpg en route to earning first-team all-Metro Classic Conference honors. 

Semenas (6-4) was voted Player of the Year in the Wisconsin Flyway Conference after leading Laconia to a league title and 25-1 record. A skilled and athletic left-handed wing player, Semenas scored more than 1,200 points during his prep career and averaged 20.8 ppg as a senior. He poured in a career-high 37 points in a victory over Flyway runner-up St. Mary’s Springs in February.

Deberry (6-4) is a versatile wing player who can score around the basket or step outside and make three-point shots. A prolific scorer in every sense of the word, Deberry averaged 25.3 ppg while helping Destiny to a 15-7 record and had 39 points in a loss to Division I power Milwaukee Vincent.   

Hawkins (6-4) is a two-time Player of the Year in the Southern Division of the Marawood Conference. A physical, competitive and skilled wing player, Hawkins leads state-bound Auburndale in both scoring (20.0 ppg) and rebounding (8.0 rpg). 

The rest of the first team includes Cuba City senior Jason Derby, Amherst senior Caleb Glennon, Luther senior Christian Kennedy, Brookfield Academy senior Domonique Criss and Marathon senior Collin Seubert. 

Derby (6-2) is a streaky perimeter shooter who can get on a big-time roll from beyond the three-point arc. The Player of the Year in the Southwest Wisconsin Activities League, Derby led Cuba City to a 26-0 record and a spot in the WIAA State Tournament by averaging a team-high 15.3 ppg on an extremely balanced roster. 

Glennon (6-1) is a wing player for an Amherst squad that won the Central Wisconsin Conference 8 title and takes a 22-3 record into the WIAA State Tournament. Glennon leads the Falcons in scoring (14.7 ppg) and is second in rebounding (4.8 rpg). 

Kennedy (6-1) helped Luther to a share of the Coulee Conference championship with Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau by averaging a team-high 17.1 ppg. Kennedy earned honorable mention all-state laurels from the WBCA a year ago. 

Criss (5-11) is a big-time scorer off the dribble for a Brookfield Academy squad that went 21-3 and won the Midwest Classic Conference title. Criss averaged 21.9 ppg for coach Pat Clarey and the Blue Knights as a senior. 

Seubert (6-2), who plans to play college basketball at NCAA Division III Milwaukee School of Engineering, is a strong perimeter player with excellent shooting range. The first-team all-league performer in the Marawood South averaged 19.6 ppg for a Marathon squad that finished 19-5 under coach Adam Jacobson. 

WBCA D4 All-State
Jerrelle Deberry, Jr., Destiny
Jason Derby, Sr., Cuba City
Caleb Glennon, Sr., Amherst
Austin Hawkins, Sr., Auburndale
Christian Kennedy, Sr., Luther
Domonique Criss, Sr., Brookfield Academy
Tyler Semenas, Sr., Laconia *
Collin Seubert, Sr., Marathon
Diamond Stone, Soph., Dominican *
Duane Wilson, Sr., Dominican *

Honorable Mention
Sean Clarey, Jr., Brookfield Academy
Brandon Ehrke, Sr., Deerfield
Adam Freitag, Sr., Shoreland Lutheran
Nick Heit, Sr., Elk Mound
Braxtyn Meyer, Sr., Fall Creek
Brandon Slaats, Sr., Cuba City
Josh Smith, Sr., Southwestern
Stephen Street, Sr., Ozaukee
Caden Untiedt, Sr., Edgar
Joe Whalen, Sr., Augusta

* Denotes unanimous selection

Voting Panel – Nick Hallberg, Grantsburg; Gregg Jensen, Amherst; Tom King, Laconia; James Komp, Wild Rose; Jerry Petitgoue, Cuba City; Rick Storlie, Fall Creek; Paul Strutz, Shoreland Lutheran; Chad Weinfurter, Auburndale.

Tyler Semenas

Duane Wilson Jr

Boys Basketball News

Tag(s): News Archive  News