skip navigation

Jaden Gault selected to receive Joe Thomas Award

11/20/2013, 4:30pm CST
By Travis Wilson

Wisconsin Sports Network and are happy to announce Jaden Gault of Monona Grove as the 2013 recipient of the Joe Thomas Award as the most outstanding senior offensive lineman in Wisconsin, part of the WSN Senior Football Awards.

Gault has battled a knee injury this year, but has been dominant as usual. A First Team All-State choice by the WFCA the last two seasons, he is a three-time First Team All-Conference selection.

"Whenever we need yards we run behind the big guy," said head coach Michael Stassi. "Jaden has great explosion along with great feet to get the job done. As a 3-year starter, Jaden has also become a great leader as he mentors to our younger lineman is practice. It has been truly a blessing to have coached Jaden. "

Gault has committed to Wisconsin and is slated to become one of the few state players to compete in the Army All-American Bowl in January.

Finalists for the award were Gault, Jacob Maxwell of Greendale, Logan Nelson of Kimberly, George Panos of Arrowhead, and Luke Rasmussen of Brookfield Central.

Past winners include Waunakee's Jake Irwin (2009), Wisconsin Rapids' Frank Vruwink (2010), Waukesha West's Connor Stefanski (2011), and Wisconsin Rapids' Hayden Biegel (2012).

The award is named after Joe Thomas, a graduate of Brookfield Central High School now playing in the NFL with the Cleveland Browns. Thomas was a three-sport athlete in high school, lettering all four years in football, basketball, and track and field while also being named to the Honor Roll all four years. He started 37 games at left tackle for the Badgers and won the Outland Trophy after his senior season. Thomas was drafted 3rd overall by the Browns in 2007, and has been selected to the Pro Bowl each of his first two seasons. 

The voting panel for the WSN Senior Football Awards consisted of:  Travis Wilson, WSN Content Manager and Head Football Writer;  Nicholas Kartos, WSN President and Founder; Norbert Durst, WSN Content Producer; Dennis Semrau, Wisconsin State Journal; Justin Hull, WSCO The Score 95.3 in Appleton; JR Radcliffe, NOW Newspapers; Dan Barwick, WSN Contributor

Tag(s): News Archive  News  Travis Wilson  Senior FB Awards