skip navigation

Billy Hirschfeld selected to receive Tim Krumrie Award

11/20/2013, 5:00pm CST
By Travis Wilson

Wisconsin Sports Network and are proud to announce Arrowhead's Billy Hirschfeld as the 2013 recipient of the Tim Krumrie Award as the most outstanding senior defensive lineman in Wisconsin, part of the WSN Senior Football Awards.

Hirschfeld, a Wisconsin commit, is a multi-year standout for the Warhawks, earning First Team All-State recognition the last two seasons. He's taken his game to another level in 2013, recording 18 tackles for loss and 9 sacks for an Arrowhead defense that has been incredibly stout against some solid very good competition.

"Arrowhead has had a lot of really good defensive players the past three years, but the one constant force is Billy," said head coach Greg Malling. "He was disruptive as a sophomore, dominant as a junior, and has been flat-out freakish as a senior."

Finalists for the award were Hirschfeld, Zach Dodge of Wilmot, Gaelin Elmore of Somerset, Luke Elsner of Seymour, Craig Evans of Sun Prairie, Conor Sheehy of Marquette, and Calvin Wright of La Crosse Logan.

Past winners of the award include Kimberly's Mike Hardy (2009), Edgar's Jeff Raymond (2010), Marshfield's Trevor Peterson (2011), and Brookfield East's Alec James (2012).

The award is named after Tim Krumrie, a graduate of Mondovi High School who went on to play for the University of Wisconsin and 12 seasons in the National Football League. Krumrie walked-on to the Badger football team, but quickly made an impression. He led the Badgers in tackles all four years, and was a three-time All-Big Ten selection. He still holds the all-time record for solo tackles and is third on the total tackles list. Drafted in the 10th round by the Cincinnati Bengals, Krumrie played in all 16 games as a rookie and went on to start 161 games in his career. He made the Pro Bowl in 1987 and 1988, and helped the Bengals to the Super Bowl in 1989. He served as the defensive line coach for the Kansas City Chiefs for four seasons after three years with the Buffalo Bills and eight seasons with the Cincinnati Bengals.

The voting panel for the WSN Senior Football Awards consisted of:  Travis Wilson, WSN Content Manager and Head Football Writer;  Nicholas Kartos, WSN President and Founder; Norbert Durst, WSN Content Producer; Dennis Semrau, Wisconsin State Journal; Justin Hull, WSCO The Score 95.3 in Appleton; JR Radcliffe, NOW Newspapers; Dan Barwick, WSN Contributor

Tag(s): News Archive  News  Travis Wilson  Senior FB Awards