skip navigation

Dave Krieg Award Finalists for top senior quarterback

10/28/2014, 11:15pm CDT
By Travis Wilson

The Dave Krieg Award is given annually to the state's top senior quarterback as part of the WSN Senior Football Awards. The award is named after former D.C. Everest and Milton College athlete Dave Krieg, who went on to play 12 seasons in the NFL and still ranks in the Top 15 all-time in most passing categories.
The pre-season watch list was trimmed down to 15 semi-finalists, and five finalists for the award have now been selected. Winners are announced the week of the state finals.
Dave Krieg Award Finalists:

Zack Baun, Brown Deer - An incredibly dynamic athlete, Baun is one of the most electric players in the state with the ball in his hands. An improved passer this season, he completed 100 of 182 passes (54.9%) for 1936 yards and 20 touchdowns for a 108.2 passer rating. He's been even better on the ground, going over 2,000 yards last season, finishing with 1,837 yards and 39 touchdowns this year. Over the weekend Baun gave a verbal commitment to the University of Wisconsin as an athlete/outside linebacker prospect. 

Alec Ingold, Bay Port - Wherever the Pirates have asked Ingold to line up, he has excelled. As a sophomore he played running back, going for more than 1000 yards with 22 touchdowns as a First Team All-Conference selection. He earned Second Team All-Conference recognition last season as a quarterback, and upped it to First Team honors and Co-Offensive Player of the Year as a senior. In 13 games he completed 87 of 142 passes for 1411 yards and 15 touchdowns with a passer rating of 121. A dynamic dual-threat in the backfield, he has rushed for 2,324 yards and 29 touchdowns this year. He'll head to Northern Illinois next year.

Nick Mehlum, Superior - Mehlum burst onto the scene last season as the Big Rivers Offensive Player of the Year and took home the honor in 2014 for a second straight season. He's gotten even better for his senior year, completing 187 of 306 passes (61.1%) for 3261 yards and 39 touchdowns, with a passer rating of 126.1. This season, the Spartans won the Big Rivers Conference title and finished 11-1. "I truly believe Nick is the best quarterback in the state!," Superior head coach Bob DeMeyer said. "He is a playmaker, a great decision-maker, and can make every throw."

James Morgan, Ashwaubenon - Morgan has led the state in passing yards virtually the entire season, and in 11 games had 3424 yards on 247 of 417 passing with 34 touchdowns, for a passer rating of 99.8. The Jaguars set a record over the last three years for most consecutive FRCC wins, claiming a league title last season with a second-place finish this season. Morgan was recently announced as the FRCC Co-Offensive Player of the Year, earning the award along as a junior. In three seasons as a starter, he threw for 7,507 yards and 70 touchdowns for the Jaguars and has given a verbal commitment to Bowling Green. 

Josh Ringelberg, Greendale - A WFCA First Team All-State selection last year, Ringelberg led the Panthers to an unbeaten regular season and Division 2 runner-up finish. In his third year as a starter, he was as good as ever, completing 172 of 261 passes (65.9%) for 2370 yards and 30 touchdowns (118.8 passer rating). He added an incredible 22 rushing touchdowns and 816 yards on the ground. Ringelberg finished with a combined 10,143 passing and rushing yards in his career, the second most in state history.

Tag(s): News Archive  News  Travis Wilson  Senior FB Awards