skip navigation

Zack Baun of Brown Deeer selected to receive Dave Krieg Award

11/19/2014, 1:30pm CST
By Travis Wilson

Wisconsin Sports Network and are happy to announce Brown Deer's Zack Baun as the 2014 recipient of the Dave Krieg Award as the most outstanding senior quarterback in Wisconsin, part of the WSN Senior Football Awards.

An incredibly dynamic athlete, Baun is one of the most electric players in the state with the ball in his hands. An improved passer this season, he completed 100 of 182 passes (54.9%) for 1936 yards and 20 touchdowns for a 108.2 passer rating. He's been even better on the ground, going over 2,000 yards last season, finishing with 1,837 yards and 39 touchdowns this year.

"He's a very humble, hard-working young man," Brown Deer coach Rob Green said. "He never brings attention to himself, he just works very hard. He's also an outstanding student, with a 3.7 GPA and 25 on the ACT."

The WFCA state Offensive Player of the Year, Baun certainly put up some huge numbers all season. He was perhaps at his best in back-to-back wins over Pewaukee to close out the regular season and open the playoffs. In those two games, he combined for 214 passing yards and 3 touchdowns, with 600 rushing yards and 10 scores on the ground. 

Baun recently gave a verbal commitment to the University of Wisconsin, where they have recruited him as an athlete/outside linebacker prospect. 

Finalists for the award were Baun, Alec Ingold of Bay Port, Nick Mehlum of Superior, James Morgan of Ashwaubenon, and Josh Ringelberg of Greendale.

Past winners of the award include Oshkosh West's Trey Demler (2009), Franklin's Lance Baretz (2010), West De Pere's Jay Tollefson (2011), Watertown's Tarek Yaeggi (2012), and Xavier's Matt Ferris (2013).

The award is named after Dave Krieg, a graduate of D.C. Everest High School who went on to star at Milton College and later in the National Football League. Krieg ranks in the Top 12 in NFL history in career pass attempts, completions, passing yards, and passing touchdowns. He was selected to the Pro Bowl three times in his 12-year career.

The voting panel for the WSN Senior Football Awards consisted of:  Travis Wilson, WSN Content Manager and Head Football Writer;  Norbert Durst, WSN Content Producer; Dennis Semrau, Wisconsin State Journal; Justin Hull, WSCO The Score 95.3 in Appleton; JR Radcliffe, NOW Newspapers; Dan Barwick, WSN Contributor; Jimmie Kaska, iHeartMedia Eau Claire; Fan Vote

Football News

Tag(s): News Archive  News  Travis Wilson  Senior FB Awards