skip navigation

Jake Matkovich of Marquette selected to receive Al Toon Award

11/19/2014, 3:00pm CST
By Travis Wilson

Wisconsin Sports Network and are happy to announce Marquette's Jake Matkovich as the 2014 recipient of the Al Toon Award as the most outstanding senior wide receiver in Wisconsin, part of the WSN Senior Football Awards.

Matkovich has been at the top of the state's receiving leaderboard most of the season, and leads the way in catches, yards, and will finish tied in touchdown receptions as well.

"Jake runs routes that are hard for a defensive back to cover, and he high-points the ball like a player that has been in college for a couple of seasons. He rarely drops the ball, even in practice," said head coach Jeff Mazurczak.

Matkovich caught 100 passes for 1725 yards and 22 touchdowns in 13 games this season, with at least 6 catches, 80 yards, and one scoring catch in all but one game this year. Matkovich set a new state record with his receiving yardage total, and his TD number ties a state record.

Finalists for the award were Matkovich, Mitchell Dess of South Milwaukee, Matt Kinderman of Xavier, Connor Konshak of West De Pere, and Jake Libal of Superior.

Past winners of the award include Madison Memorial's Lechein Neblett (2009), Monona Grove's Zach Zweifel (2010), Montello/Princeton/Green Lake's Matt Sosinsky (2011), Black River Falls' Jordan Millis (2012), and Greendale's Mitchell Brees (2013).

The award is named after Al Toon, a graduate of the University of Wisconsin who still ranks in the top three or four of almost all game, season, and career receiving categories. Toon was a first-round draft choice by the New York Jets, who led the NFL in catches in 1988 with 93. Injuries forced him to retire early from the NFL, but he has been a fixture back in the Madison area for many years. 

The voting panel for the WSN Senior Football Awards consisted of:  Travis Wilson, WSN Content Manager and Head Football Writer;  Norbert Durst, WSN Content Producer; Dennis Semrau, Wisconsin State Journal; Justin Hull, WSCO The Score 95.3 in Appleton; JR Radcliffe, NOW Newspapers; Dan Barwick, WSN Contributor; Jimmie Kaska, iHeartMedia Eau Claire; Fan Vote

Football News

Tag(s): News Archive  News  Travis Wilson  Senior FB Awards