skip navigation

Jim Leonhard Award Semi-Finalists

09/25/2015, 1:00pm CDT
By Travis Wilson

The Jim Leonhard Award is given to the top senior defensive back as part of the WSN Senior Football Awards. The award is named after former Flambeau High School and University of Wisconsin athlete Jim Leonhard, who has gone on to great success in the NFL with the Baltimore Ravens, New York Jets, and Denver Broncos.
The pre-season list has been trimmed down to 19 semi-finalists, with five finalists chosen after the Level 1 playoffs. Winners are announced the week of the state finals.


First Name Last Name Team
Josh Baker Kewaskum
Michael Crowley Marquette
Beau Girard Superior
Ben Gutschow Amherst
Jim Hoesley Arcadia
Braden Jorenby Madison La Follette
Matthew Kind La Crosse Logan
Kobe Knaak Franklin
Matthew Lechner Catholic Memorial
Amaziah McCall Amherst
Tedy Orlando Arrowhead
Tyler Reinhart Slinger
Dyln Ross Waterford
Noah Severin Xavier
Zeffary Smith Reedsburg
Samuel Staehling Plymouth
Carter Voelker Kiel
Jake Walgenbach Fond du Lac
Hunter Wilson DeForest

To view the Pre-Season Watch List, click here.
Finalists for the award do not have to come from the semi-finalist list. Lists are compiled from statistical information available to WSN, coach nominations, player evaluations, and other resources.

Tag(s): News Archive  News  Travis Wilson  Senior FB Awards