skip navigation

Tyler Biadasz of Amherst selected to receive Tim Krumrie Award

11/18/2015, 12:00pm CST
By Travis Wilson

Wisconsin Sports Network and are proud to announce Amherst's Tyler Biadasz as the 2015 recipient of the Tim Krumrie Award as the most outstanding senior defensive lineman in Wisconsin, part of the WSN Senior Football Awards.

A beast on both sides of the ball, Biadasz was a WFCA First Team All-State choice at outside linebacker last year, moving to the defensive line this season, where he was again an All-State selection.

He has an impressive blend of size, athletic ability, and potential, something the University of Wisconsin saw this spring in offering a scholarship, which he accepted.

As a senior, he has 53 tackles, 9 tackles for loss, 4 sacks, 3 forced fumbles, an interception, and two defensive touchdowns, despite rarely playing in the second half of Amherst blowout victories.

“He has great feet, which separates him from everyone else,” said head coach Mark Lusic. “Teams game plan for him defensively. He plays wide side every play, and teams run away from him and when they challenge him, it usually does not work out the for opposing team.”

Finalists for the award were Zach Angle of Oshkosh North, Trayvonn Johnson of Verona, Aaron Maternowski of Slinger, Josh Mueller of Homestead, and Zack Taylor of Catholic Memorial.

Past winners of the award include Kimberly's Mike Hardy (2009), Edgar's Jeff Raymond (2010), Marshfield's Trevor Peterson (2011), Brookfield East's Alec James (2012), Arrowhead's Billy Hirschfeld (2013), and Homestead's David Pfaff.

The award is named after Tim Krumrie, a graduate of Mondovi High School who went on to play for the University of Wisconsin and 12 seasons in the National Football League. Krumrie walked-on to the Badger football team, but quickly made an impression. He led the Badgers in tackles all four years, and was a three-time All-Big Ten selection. He still holds the all-time record for solo tackles and is third on the total tackles list. Drafted in the 10th round by the Cincinnati Bengals, Krumrie played in all 16 games as a rookie and went on to start 161 games in his career. He made the Pro Bowl in 1987 and 1988, and helped the Bengals to the Super Bowl in 1989. He served as the defensive line coach for the Kansas City Chiefs for four seasons after three years with the Buffalo Bills and eight seasons with the Cincinnati Bengals.

The voting panel for the WSN Senior Football Awards consisted of:  Travis Wilson, WSN General Manager and Head Football Writer;  Norbert Durst, WSN Content Manager; Dennis Semrau, ESPN Madison; Justin Hull, WSCO The Score 95.3 in Appleton; JR Radcliffe, NOW Newspapers; Dan Barwick, WSN Contributor; Jason Cox, Eau Claire Leader-Telegram; Fan Vote

Recent Football Articles

Tag(s): News Archive  News  Travis Wilson  Senior FB Awards