skip navigation

Mason Stokke of Menomonie selected to receive John Anderson Award

11/18/2015, 12:30pm CST
By Travis Wilson

Wisconsin Sports Network and are happy to announce Menomonie's Mason Stokke as the 2015 recipient of the John Anderson Award as the most outstanding senior linebacker in Wisconsin, part of the WSN Senior Football Awards.

A two-way phenom, Stokke recorded 151 tackles, 22 tackles for loss, 2 sacks, recovered 5 fumbles, forced 3 fumbles, and had 3 interceptions for the Mustangs this season. An undefeated state champion wrestler last year, he is also a standout running back, going for more than 1400 yards this season.

Not surprisingly, he was a two-way WFCA All-State selection, including the WFCA Defensive Player of the Year.

“He is the toughest player I have ever coached both physically and mentally,” said veteran head coach Joe LaBuda.

Stokke gave a verbal commitment to Wisconsin earlier this year.

Finalists for the award were Stokke, Jacob Erbs of Reedsburg, Ross Kennelly of Superior, Alex Orvis of Madison La Follette, Zach Steuck of Lodi, and Zach Turner of Stanley-Boyd.

Past winners include Arrowhead's Derek Landisch (2010), Wisconsin Rapids' Vince Biegel (2011), Green Bay Southwest's Nathan Paup (2012), Mukwonago's Dominic Cizauskas (2013), and Wausau West's Jake Whalen (2014).

The award is named after John Anderson, a former Waukesha South standout who received All-Conference and All-State recognition on both offense and defense for the Blackshirts. He would go on to star for the University of Michigan for four seasons where he twice earned All-Big Ten honors. Anderson would be selected by the Green Bay Packers in the first round of the 1978 NFL Draft and go on to a successful 12-year career. Upon his retirement he was the Packers all-time leader in tackles with 1,020 (the Packer only have stats compiled since 1975) and still holds that record today. He was named to the NFL's All-Decade team for the 1980's and the Packers Hall of Fame in 1996.

The voting panel for the WSN Senior Football Awards consisted of:  Travis Wilson, WSN General Manager and Head Football Writer;  Norbert Durst, WSN Content Manager; Dennis Semrau, ESPN Madison; Justin Hull, WSCO The Score 95.3 in Appleton; JR Radcliffe, NOW Newspapers; Dan Barwick, WSN Contributor; Jason Cox, Eau Claire Leader-Telegram; Fan Vote

Recent Senior Football Award Articles

Recent Football Articles

Tag(s): News Archive  News  Travis Wilson  Senior FB Awards