skip navigation

Senior Softball Awards: Infielder/Catcher Finalists

06/02/2016, 3:30pm CDT
By Norbert Durst

Wisconsin Sports Network is proud to showcase the WSN Senior Softball Awards presented by Easton.

The pre-season watch list has been trimmed down to five finalists. Winners are announced the week of the softball state tournament.

Lexi Kemnitzer, McFarland – Kemnitzer is hitting .527 with 5 home runs, 3 triples and 38 RBI. She also has a .769 slugging percentage and a 1.339 on base plus slugging percentage. Lexi is the Spartans primary shortstop, but has also been asked to contribute in the circle, going 10-0 with 133 strikeouts in 79 2/3 innings pitched. McFarland faces Delavan-Darien in a Division 2 sectional final today. 

Kayla Konwent, Westosha Central – Konwent has a .529 batting average with 6 home runs and 32 RBI. The Wisconsin recruit has been walked an eye-popping 47 times this season and has struck out just once. Kayla enters the Falcons sectional final against Union Grove with a .752 on base percentage and a 1.752 on base plus slugging percentage. Westosha Central is 24-4 this season. 

Claire Ryan, Union Grove – Ryan is hitting .525 with 6 home runs and 37 RBI for the Broncos. She has an .887 slugging percentage and 1.457 on base plus slugging percentage. Claire has also stolen 11 bases for Union Grove who are 26-2 entering a Division 1 sectional final against Westosha Central on Thursday.  

Taylor Stroinski, Thorp – Stroinski is hitting .420 with 6 triples and 46 runs scored for the Cardinals. She set the school-record for steals this season and currently has 43 and has not been thrown out. Taylor plays second base and has a .959 fielding percentage for Thorp who faces Three Lakes/Phelps in a Division 4 sectional final today. 

Kyra Verheyen, Waupun – Verheyen hit .554 with a .607 on base percentage and 1.377 on base plus slugging percentage. She finished with 7 doubles, 3 triples, 10 walks, 31 RBI, and 14 stolen bases for the Warriors. Waupun went 20-5 overall and reached Division 2 sectionals. 

Tag(s): News Archive  News  Senior Softball Awards  Norbert Durst