skip navigation

Zach Clayton of Oconomowoc selected to receive Al Toon Award

11/16/2016, 10:00am CST
By Travis Wilson

Wisconsin Sports Network and are happy to announce Oconomowoc's Zach Clayton as the 2016 recipient of the Al Toon Award as the most outstanding senior wide receiver in Wisconsin, part of the WSN Senior Football Awards.

Clayton, an Oregon State baseball commit who also held a Wisconsin preferred walk-on offer for football, teamed with Ben Nienhuis for one of the most dangerous passing combos in the state.

Very physical with good size and athletic ability, Clayton is tied for the state lead through Level 4 playoff games with 95 receptions, racking up 1,524 receiving yards, adding 16 touchdowns. His 217 career receptions and 3,325 career receiving yards are both third on the state's all-time list, while his 36 touchdowns are tied for second.

"Zach is a very driven athlete who is ultra-competitive and made plays in all phases of the game," said head coach Ryan McMillen. He's a versatile athlete with a unique body type for the athleticism he possesses."

Clayton earned WFCA All-State recognition for a second consecutive season.

Finalists for the award were Clayton, Terrell Carey of Madison West, Reid Hilbelink of Cedar Grove-Belgium, Tyler Hughes of Onalaska, and Jalen Sample of Onalaska.

Past winners of the award include Madison Memorial's Lechein Neblett (2009), Monona Grove's Zach Zweifel (2010), Montello/Princeton/Green Lake's Matt Sosinsky (2011), Black River Falls' Jordan Millis (2012), Greendale's Mitchell Brees (2013), Marquette's Jake Matkovich (2014), and Kimberly's Jordan Janssen (2015).

The award is named after Al Toon, a graduate of the University of Wisconsin who still ranks in the top three or four of almost all game, season, and career receiving categories. Toon was a first-round draft choice by the New York Jets, who led the NFL in catches in 1988 with 93. Injuries forced him to retire early from the NFL, but he has been a fixture back in the Madison area for many years. 

The voting panel for the WSN Senior Football Awards consisted of:  Travis Wilson, WSN General Manager and Head Football Writer;  Norbert Durst, WSN Content Manager; Dennis Semrau, ESPN Madison; Justin Hull, WSCO The Score 95.3 in Appleton; JR Radcliffe, NOW Newspapers; Dan Barwick, WSN Contributor; Jason Cox, Eau Claire Leader-Telegram; Fan Vote

Recent Senior Football Award Articles

Recent Football Articles

Tag(s): News Archive  News  Travis Wilson  Senior FB Awards