skip navigation

Hawk Wimmer of Franklin selected to receive Tim Krumrie Award

11/16/2016, 12:00pm CST
By Travis Wilson

Wisconsin Sports Network and are proud to announce Franklin's Hawk Wimmer as the 2016 recipient of the Tim Krumrie Award as the most outstanding senior defensive lineman in Wisconsin, part of the WSN Senior Football Awards.

At 6-4, 310 pounds Wimmer is a dominating presence on the interior of the Sabers' defensive line, but his size isn't all he has going for him.

"He is unbelievably athletic for his size and commands double teams from opponents," head coach Louis Brown said. "Our defense has given up 4 points in the 1st half of games this year and he is the main reason why."

On the season he has 76 tackles, 29 tackles for loss, and 6 sacks to go with 3 forced fumbles as the Sabers are back in Madison once again in the Division 1 state title game.

Wimmer was recognized as a WFCA First Team All-State player on the defensive line.

Finalists for the award were Wimmer, Blaze Beltran of Pewaukee, Michael Buetow of Saint Mary's Springs, Ausitn Goehring of Kiel, Caiden Haake of Pepin/Alma, Logan McCormick of Kimberly, Jacob Powell of Arrowhead, and Aaron Vopal of De Pere.

Past winners of the award include Kimberly's Mike Hardy (2009), Edgar's Jeff Raymond (2010), Marshfield's Trevor Peterson (2011), Brookfield East's Alec James (2012), Arrowhead's Billy Hirschfeld (2013), Homestead's David Pfaff (2014), and Amherst's Tyler Biadasz (2015).

The award is named after Tim Krumrie, a graduate of Mondovi High School who went on to play for the University of Wisconsin and 12 seasons in the National Football League. Krumrie walked-on to the Badger football team, but quickly made an impression. He led the Badgers in tackles all four years, and was a three-time All-Big Ten selection. He still holds the all-time record for solo tackles and is third on the total tackles list. Drafted in the 10th round by the Cincinnati Bengals, Krumrie played in all 16 games as a rookie and went on to start 161 games in his career. He made the Pro Bowl in 1987 and 1988, and helped the Bengals to the Super Bowl in 1989. He served as the defensive line coach for the Kansas City Chiefs for four seasons after three years with the Buffalo Bills and eight seasons with the Cincinnati Bengals.

The voting panel for the WSN Senior Football Awards consisted of:  Travis Wilson, WSN General Manager and Head Football Writer;  Norbert Durst, WSN Content Manager; Dennis Semrau, ESPN Madison; Justin Hull, WSCO The Score 95.3 in Appleton; JR Radcliffe, NOW Newspapers; Dan Barwick, WSN Contributor; Jason Cox, Eau Claire Leader-Telegram; Fan Vote

Recent Senior Football Award Articles

Recent Football Articles

Tag(s): News Archive  News  Travis Wilson  Senior FB Awards