skip navigation

Jarrett Maier of Monona Grove selected to receive Jim Leonhard Award

11/16/2016, 2:00pm CST
By Travis Wilson

Wisconsin Sports Network and are proud to announce Monona Grove's Jarrett Maier as the 2016 recipient of the Jim Leonhard Award as the most outstanding senior defensive back in Wisconsin, part of the WSN Senior Football Awards.

Maier is a versatile defensive back who makes plays all over the field for the Silver Eagles and head coach Brandon Beckwith. As a senior, he leads the team by a good ways in tackles with 153, with a team-best 6 interceptions and 3 fumble recoveries. He's added 5 tackles for loss and half a sack from his secondary spot as well.

"We moved him all around the field this year as we had some holes to fill, and he embraced every situation we put him in," said head coach Brandon Beckwith. "His ability range is outstanding, from one-on-one with the opponent's best wide receiver to playing both strong and free safety in the box."

Finalists for the award were Maier, Gavin Falk of Plymouth, Beau Goodreau of Sheboygan Falls, Brad Laufenberg of Verona, Tyler Mais of Waunakee.

Past winners of the award include Marquette's Michael Trotter (2009), Appleton North's Joe Makeever (2010), Edgar's Kyle Schueller (2011), Whitefish Bay's Jackson Weber (2012), Appleton North's Connor Rolain (2013), Kimberly's Bret Verstegen (2014), and Marquette's Michael Crowley (2015).

The award is named after Jim Leonhard, one of the most beloved players from the state of Wisconsin. Hailing from tiny Tony, Wisconsin and attending Flambeau High School, Leonhard was a two-time All-State selection. He walked-on at the University of Wisconsin, and quickly established himself as a leader and outstanding player. He started 39 games in his career, and his 21 career interceptions are tied for the most in Badger history and fourth in the Big Ten. He also broke the Big Ten punt return yardage record. Leonhard went undrafted, but hooked on with the Buffalo Bills before moving to the Baltimore Ravens. In 2009 he signed with the New York Jets and is now with the Cleveland Browns.

The voting panel for the WSN Senior Football Awards consisted of:  Travis Wilson, WSN General Manager and Head Football Writer;  Norbert Durst, WSN Content Manager; Dennis Semrau, ESPN Madison; Justin Hull, WSCO The Score 95.3 in Appleton; JR Radcliffe, NOW Newspapers; Dan Barwick, WSN Contributor; Jason Cox, Eau Claire Leader-Telegram; Fan Vote

Recent Senior Football Award Articles

Recent Football Articles

Tag(s): News Archive  News  Travis Wilson  Senior FB Awards