skip navigation

Senior Boys Basketball Awards: Point Guard Finalists

03/08/2017, 10:00am CST
By Mark Miller

Wisconsin Sports Network is proud to showcase the WSN High School Basketball Awards.

The pre-season watch list previously was trimmed to 15 semi-finalists, and now five finalists for the award have been selected. Winners are announced the week of the state tournament. Finalists are eligible for just one of the five awards. There will be a total of 25 finalists for the five awards, five different players for each award.


DeAndre Johns, 6-2, Kenosha St. Joseph – The four-year starter for the Lancers saved perhaps his best game for his final game. Johns scored a career-high 42 points and helped the Lancers nearly pull the upset of the WIAA playoffs before falling to top-ranked Destiny 82-80 in overtime in a Division 4 regional final. Johns averaged 24.5 points, 8.2 rebounds and 4.0 assists per game as a senior and finished his prep career with 1,807 points.

Bailey Kale, 6-0, La Crosse Central – The NCAA Division II recruit for Minnesota-Duluth is averaging 18.1 ppg for the Red Raiders, who take a 22-2 record into their Division 2 sectional semifinal game against rival Onalaska. A four-year varsity performer for coach Todd Fergot, Kale’s smooth shooting stroke and overall court intelligence is a major reason why the Red Raiders are favored to win the DII state title.

Luke Loewe, 6-3, Fond du Lac – A NCAA Division I recruit for William & Mary, Loewe spent his first three years of high school playing for Ripon before a family move led him to Division I Fond du Lac for his senior season. After recovering from a serious car accident in November, Loewe was outstanding for coach Mark Ziebell and the Cardinals, averaging just over 20 points, 3.5 rebounds and 2.7 assists while shooting 54 percent from the field and 44 percent from three-point range. He completed his four-year varsity career with 1,568 points.

Storm Murphy, 5-11, Middleton – An exceptionally quick and aggressive lead guard and NCAA Division I recruit for Wofford, Murphy has helped a talented Middleton squad to a 19-5 record heading into its WIAA Division 1 sectional semifinal against Madison Memorial. Murphy is averaging 19.6 ppg for coach Kevin Bavery and the Cardinals and leads the club in assists and steals.

Shane Wissink, 5-11, Oshkosh North – One of the top clutch performers in the Fox Valley Association, Wissink’s strong all-around play has been huge for the top-ranked Spartans, who bring a 24-0 record into their Division I sectional semifinal game against Marshfield. Wissink is averaging 12.5 ppg and 3.3 apg for coach Frank Schade and the FVA champion Spartans.

For the list of semi-finalists for the Point Guard Award, click here.

For the watch list for the Point Guard Award, click here.

Recent Boys Basketball Award Articles

Tag(s): News Archive  News  Senior Awards  Mark Miller