skip navigation

Wisconsin Varsity Invitational to be held this weekend

07/13/2017, 1:15pm CDT
By Norbert Durst

The 7th annual Wisconsin Varsity Invitational sponsored by Wisconsin Impact will be held this Saturday, July 15, and Sunday, July 16, at Center Court in Waukesha and New Berlin West High School. 

The tournament features 72 teams that are guaranteed five stopped clock games within three divisions of 24 teams; Large (D1), Medium (D2), and Small (D3-D5) divisions. 

For the list of teams competing and the schedule, click here

Beaver Dam, last year's Division 2 state champion, is among the 72-team field. The Golden Beavers finished a perfect 28-0 last season, winning each of the games by more than 10 points. 

Six other teams reached the state tournament last season, they include: De Pere (D1 runner-up), Middleton (D1), Martin Luther (D3 runner-up), Bloomer (D3), Wrightstown (D3), and Bangor (D5). 

Teams at invite that reached sectional play last season: 

Division 1
Sectional Semifinal: Appleton West, Brookfield Central, DSHA
Sectional Final: Chippewa Falls, Germantown, Oak Creek

Division 2
Sectional Semifinal: Cedarburg, New Berlin Eisenhower, Stoughton
Sectional Final: Milton, Seymour 

Division 3
Sectional Semifinal: Columbus, Freedom, Hayward

Division 4
Sectional Semifinal: Melrose-Mindoro, Racine Lutheran
Sectional Final: Cameron

Division 5
Sectional Semifinal: Barneveld
Sectional Final: Fall River

Last season, New Berlin Eisenhower was the Large School champion and Lourdes Academy captured the Small School title. 

For more information on the invite, including rules, click here

Make sure to follow Norbert Durst on Twitter for updates from the event.

Tag(s): News Archive  News  Norbert Durst