skip navigation

WBCA announces Division 5 Girls Basketball All-State Team

03/12/2018, 12:00pm CDT

Jordan Ludescher headlines the 2018 Division 5 WBCA All-State Team as the lone unanimous selection. 

Amber Baehman of Tri-County, Brianna Leahy of Shullsburg, Alison Leslie of Clayton, Natalie Leuzinger of Black Hawk, Jennifer Wendler of Owen-Withee, and Emma Wittmershaus of Bangor are all repeat first-team all-state picks. 

Ludescher, an honorable mention all-state pick last season, led Flambeau to a perfect regular season record before falling to state qualifier Clayton in a regional final. The senior and Michigan Tech recruit finished 7th in the state in scoring with 24.9 points per game for coach Steve Alberson and the Falcons who finished the year with a 23-1 record. 

Baehman led Tri-County to a 23-3 record and trip to sectional play before losing to state qualifier Newman Catholic in a sectional semifinal. The senior and UW-Stevens Point recruit averaged 18 points, 11.3 rebounds, 4.8 assists, 3.4 steals and 1.8 blocks per game for coach Michael Vesperman and the Penguins. 

Leahy led Shullsburg to a 21-6 record and sectional final appearance before falling to state champion Bangor, 55-41. The UW-River Falls recruit averaged 14.7 points, 13.4 rebounds, 2.4 assists and 5.8 blocks per game for coach Nathan Russell and the Miners. Leahy recorded four triple-doubles this season. 

Leslie led Clayton to its third consecutive state tournament appearance and a 24-4 overall record after falling to Bangor in a state semifinal. She averaged 18.2 points, 7 rebounds, 1.9 assists and 2.5 steals per game for coach Kevin Fall and the Bears. 

Leuzinger helped lead Black Hawk to the state championship game before dropping a 39-29 contest against Bangor in the title game to finish the year 28-1. The sophomore averaged 16.7 points, 5.9 rebounds, 2.4 assists and 2.7 steals per game for coach Michael Flanagan and the Warriors. 

Wendler led Owen-Withee to a 16-8 record, averaging 21.8 points, 11.6 rebounds and 1.7 blocks per game for coach Al Guthman and the Blackhawks. The 6-foot-2 forward has an NCAA Division I offer from Youngstown State. 

Wittmershaus led Bangor to its first state title since 1997. The senior and UW-Milwaukee recruit averaged 16.7 points, 9 rebounds, 1.9 steals and 1.6 assists per game for coach Merlin Jones and the Cardinals who finished the year 26-3 overall. Emm also recorded seven triple-doubles this season. 

Bailey Butler of Black Hawk helped the Warriors finish as the state runner-up and a 28-1 record. The standout freshman averaged 15.5 points, 4.1 rebounds, 3.7 assists and 4.1 steals per game for coach Michael Flanagan and the Warriors. 

Katie Cardey led Rib lake to a 20-4 record and regional final appearance. The senior averaged 19.9 points, 6.8 rebounds, 2.3 assists and 2.5 steals per game for coach Mike Wudi and the Redmen. 

Signe Fronek led Newman Catholic to its first state tournament appearance since 2013 before falling to state runner-up Black Hawk in a semifinal. The senior and Concordia Wisconsin recruit averaged 18.2 points, 5.8 rebounds, 2 assists and 2 steals per game for coach Jason Vanden Elzen and the Cardinals who finished the year with a 21-7 record. 

Alexis Rolph, an honorable mention D4 all-state pick last season, led Lourdes Academy to a sectional appearance and 19-6 overall record. The junior averaged 18.6 points, 7 rebounds, 6.5 assists, 3.9 steals and 1.4 blocks per game for coach Reed Tyriver and the Knights. 

Division 5 WBCA All-State
Amber Baehman, sr., Tri-County
Bailey Butler, frosh., Black Hawk
Katie Cardey, sr., Rib Lake 
Signe Fronek, sr., Newman Catholic 
Brianna Leahy, sr., Shullsburg 
Allison Leslie, jr., Clayton
Natalie Leuzinger, soph., Black Hawk 
Jordan Ludescher, sr., Flambeau* 
Alexis Rolph., jr., Lourdes Academy 
Jennifer Wendler, jr., Owen-Withee
Emma Wittmershaus, sr., Bangor 

Honorable Mention
Lindsey Bresette, sr., Bayfield 
Abby Kaiser, sr., Potosi 
Kailey Ketz, jr., Clayton 
Makaylee Kuhn, jr., Hilbert 
Reanne Kietlinski, sr., Bowler 
Emma Lawrence, sr., Benton 
Gabby McCorison, sr., Butternut 
Abby Opsal, sr., McDonell Central 
Julia Peplinski, sr., Hustisford 
Jessica Slowik, sr., Elcho 

* Denotes unanimous selection

Voting Panel – Jason Schultz, Northwood; Steve Alberson, Flambeau; Mike Rueth, Loyal; Michelle Kincaid, Elcho; Nathan Russell, Shullsburg; Merlin Jones, Bangor; Reed Tyriver, Lourdes Academy; Mike Flanagan, Black Hawk

Tag(s): News Archive  News  Playoffs