skip navigation

WIAA announces 2018 Scholar-Athletes

04/19/2018, 11:45am CDT

From the WIAA -- 

Sixteen senior girls and 16 senior boys from Hayward to Kenosha have been selected as finalists to receive the Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association’s (WIAA) prestigious 2018 WIAA Statewide Scholar Athlete Award underwritten by Marshfield Clinic. More than 1,000 Scholar Athlete finalists have been recognized since the program began in 1984.

To determine the top 32 finalists, four boys and four girls were selected--based on both athletic and academic achievement-- from each of four WIAA divisions. “These extraordinary student athletes excel in both academics and athletics,” said Tom Shafranski, Assistant Director of the WIAA. “Seventeen of this year’s 32 WIAA Scholar Athlete finalists have a grade point average of 4.0 to date, while the average GPA is an amazing 3.93. All 32 scholar athlete finalists have already earned a total of 299 varsity letters during their first 3-1/2 years of high school. That’s an average of 9 letters per athlete, and we have not yet completed our spring sports season.”

This year 881 seniors were nominated for the 2018 WIAA Scholar Athlete Award by 455 high schools throughout the state.

The 2018 WIAA Scholar Athlete Finalists, as well as their families and school representatives, will be recognized at an awards ceremony Sunday, May 6 at the Jefferson Street Inn in Wausau.

Each 2018 WIAA Scholar Athlete Finalist will receive a medallion and certificate, and will take with them a special plaque for display in their school’s trophy case. Keynote speaker will be former Green Bay Packer and Wisconsin Badger, Jared Abbrederis, who was also a statewide WIAA Scholar Athlete in 2009.

A Webcast of the awards ceremony will be available at during and after the ceremony beginning at 1 p.m. on Sunday, May 6.

All student athletes nominated for the award by their high school athletic directors will be presented with a medal at their school in a manner to be determined by the school administration recognizing them as their school’s top male or female scholar athlete.

This year’s list of scholar athlete finalists features these items of interest:

  • Of the 455 high schools submitting nominations this year, three schools had a WIAA Scholar Athlete Finalist for the first time in the 35-year history of the WIAA Scholar Athlete program.
  • Dawson Sarauer is the first WIAA Scholar Athlete Finalist from Saint Mary’s Springs Academy.
  • Northland Lutheran High School produced its first Scholar Athlete Finalist in 2018—David Burgess.
  • Brianna Leahy is the first WIAA Scholar Athlete Finalist from Shullsburg High School.
  • Brookfield Central High School’s eighth WIAA Scholar Athlete Finalist is Alexis Romero.
  • Max Barreau is the sixth WIAA Scholar Athlete Finalist from Lodi High School.
  • Allyson Nelson is the sixth WIAA Scholar Athlete Finalist from Brookwood High School.
  • Hudson High School’s sixth WIAA Scholar Athlete Finalist is Anna Wilgren.
  • Kari Brekke of Appleton North High School is the daughter of 1985 WIAA Scholar Athlete Finalist, Jan Brekke.

For more information, visit


2018 Scholar Athlete Finalists      

Max Alba, Franklin, Franklin High School
Ansel Fellman, Kenosha, Kenosha Bradford High School
Jordan Janusiak, South Milwaukee, South Milwaukee High School
Blake Kretovics, New Richmond, New Richmond High School

Kari Brekke, Appleton, Appleton North High School
Samantha Krueger, River Falls, River Falls High School
Alexis Romero, Brookfield, Brookfield Central High School
Anna Wilgren, Hudson, Hudson High School

Max Barreau, Lodi, Lodi High School
Dakota Brockman, Freedom, Freedom High School
Brett Carlson, Star Prairie, Osceola High School
Kavanaugh FitzPatrick, Minocqua, Lakeland Union High School

Skye Digman, Platteville, Platteville High School
Rachel Halberg, Hayward, Hayward High School
Caitlin Link, Madison, Edgewood High School
Jenna Mace, Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin Dells High School

Calvin Rosen, Clear Lake, Clear Lake High School
Dawson Sarauer, Fond du Lac, Saint Mary’s Springs Academy*
Miles Jon Saylor, Necedah, Necedah High School
Max Villnow, Amherst, Amherst High School

Erika Kisting, Amherst Junction, Iola-Scandinavia High School
Elise Large, Port Washington, Ozaukee High School
Allyson Nelson, Westby, Brookwood High School
Anika Washburn, Brookfield, Brookfield Academy

David Burgess, Wausau, Northland Lutheran High School*
Tanner Deist, Wild Rose, Wild Rose High School
Luke Reader, Bangor, Bangor High School
Elijah Moak Ribbe, Eagle River, Three Lakes High School

McKenzie Baeseman, Elroy, Royall High School
Emma Lawrence, Benton, Benton High School
Brianna Leahy, Shullsburg, Shullsburg High School*
Carly Vandenhouten, Oshkosh, Lourdes Academy

*indicates that the student is that school’s first statewide winner.

Tag(s): News  News Archive  News  News  News  News  News  News  News  News  WIAA