skip navigation

WBCA announces 2020 Division 1 Boys Basketball All-State Team

03/10/2020, 8:30am CDT

Neenah's Max Klesmit is a repeat WBCA All-State selection in Division 1

Patrick Baldwin, Jr. of Sussex Hamilton, Dalton Banks of Eau Claire North, Carter Gilmore of Arrowhead, and Max Klesmit of Neenah are repeat selections on the 2020 Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association All-State Team.

Baldwin, Jr. was an Honorable Mention All-State choice as a freshman when he led the Chargers to the state tournament. A First Team choice last year, he is a consensus top-five player in the country in his class. The 6’9” junior averages 24.6 points, 11.3 rebounds, and 4.1 assists per game this year while shooting 86% from the free throw line and 44% from behind the arc.

Banks is a repeat First Team All-State choice by the WBCA as one of the most productive players in the state once again. A two-time Player of the Year in the Big Rivers Conference, he averages 24.7 points, 10.6 rebounds, and 5.2 assists per outing.

Gilmore helped Arrowhead to a dominating Classic Eight Conference title, as the Warhawks went unbeaten in league play and claimed the league crown by four full games. A repeat WBCA All-State choice, the Wisconsin walk-on commit averages 25.8 points, 10.8 rebounds, and 5.5 assists per game as a do-it-all forward.

Klesmit is a scoring machine for Neenah, averaging 26.1 points per game on 52.6% shooting from the floor and 81.7% at the free throw line. But he’s much more than just that, as the 6’3” senior guard also leads the Rockets in rebounding (8.3 per game), assists (4.7), steals (2.0), and blocks (0.6).

Jake Buchanan helped Kimberly to an outright Fox Valley Association title this season, leading the Papermakers with 18.9 points per game while shooting 82% from the free throw line and 40% from the three-point line. He added 4.0 rebounds and 4.5 assists per game.

Brookfield East’s Hayden Doyle was a key part of last fall’s football state championship and has been outstanding on the hardwood as well. The Spartans finished third in the ultra-competitive Greater Metro Conference, as Doyle averages 20.5 points per game.

David Joplin has continued to improve over the course of his career at Brookfield Central and is in the midst of a dominating run late in the year for the defending state champions. He’s scored at least 30 points six times in the last month and is averaging 23.2 points per game on the season. The junior adds 10.2 rebounds and 3.3 assists as well for the Greater Metro Conference champs.

Quinton Murrell of Milwaukee King was recently announced as the City Conference Player of the Year, as the breakout 6’3” junior guard leads the unbeaten Generals at 18.4 points per game. He was a First Team All-Conference choice last season and has added more hardware this year.

Ben Nau was a key part of Brookfield Central’s run to a state title last season but has taken on much more of the burden as a junior, with the Lancers ranked in the top five in the state all season. The 6’2” guard is averaging 12.9 points, 4.4 rebounds, and 5.7 assists per game as the team’s main facilitator. 

Isaiah Stewart of Madison La Follette was a solid performer for the Lancers the last two years, but is a significant breakout star as a senior, picking up not only First Team All-Conference recognition but also Big Eight Player of the Year honors. Stewart led the team with 15.8 points per game as the team spent the latter part of the year ranked number one in the Division 1 Coaches Poll.

Division 1 WBCA All-State

Patrick Baldwin, Jr., Jr., Sussex Hamilton
Dalton Banks, Sr., Eau Claire North
Jake Buchanan, Sr., Kimberly
Hayden Doyle, Jr., Brookfield East
Carter Gilmore, Sr., Arrowhead
David Joplin, Jr., Brookfield Central
Max Klesmit, Sr., Neenah
Quinton Murrell, Jr., Milwaukee King
Ben Nau, Jr., Brookfield Central
Isaiah Stewart, Sr., Madison La Follette

Honorable Mention

Caden Boser, Sr., Eau Claire Memorial
Shilo Bowles, Sr., West Allis Central
Mason Dopirak, Jr., Manitowoc Lincoln
Grant Flory, Jr., Wisconsin Rapids
Aiden Flynn, Sr., Marquette
Logan Geissler, Sr., Bay Port
Josh Govek, Sr., Sheboygan South
Peyton Rogers-Schmidt, Sr., Chippewa Falls
Colin Schaefer, Sr., Sun Prairie
Carson Smith, Sr., Sussex Hamilton
Karter Thomas, Sr., Oshkosh West
JaKobe Thompson, Jr., Racine Case
Jyon Young, Sr., Kenosha Tremper

Tag(s): News Archive  BBB News  Travis Wilson  All-State