skip navigation

DeForest's Weisbrod picked as state's top senior point guard

03/28/2022, 11:30am CDT
By Mark Miller

DeForest's Max Weisbrod has been selected as the top senior Point Guard as part of the WSN Senior Basketball Awards

An incredibly productive and consistent performer with no fear of taking the big shot or defending the opponent's best perimeter player, Weisbrod earned Player of the Year honors in the Badger East Conference.

The son of DeForest coach Craig Weisbrod, Max Weisbrod averaged 21.1 points, 7.1 rebounds and 7.4 assists while helping DeForest to a 22-5 record and a share of the Badger East Conference title with Milton.   

Weisbrod seemed to be at his best in the biggest games of the season. In a victory over Illinois Division 4 state champion Yorkville Christian in December, Weisbrod finished with 35 points and nine assists. 

In the Badger Conference playoff contest against Milton, Weisbrod finished with 36 points, eight rebounds and six steals as the Norskies notched a 74-73 triumph. 

Weisbrod, who is headed to NCAA Division II Northern Michigan on a basketball scholarship, scored more than 1,400 points during his four-year prep career and finished fourth in the state in assists per game as a senior.

Finalists for the award were Weisbrod, Chevalier Emery Jr. of Neenah, Ashton Janowski of Pewaukee, Jackson Paveletzke of Kimberly, Seth Trimble of Menomonee Falls. 

Past winners of the award include Brian Parzych of Wauwatosa East (2021), Max Klesmit of Neenah (2020), Jaeden Zackery of Westosha Central (2019), Jordan McCabe of Kaukauna (2018), Bailey Kale of La Crosse Central (2017), Te'Jon Lucas of Milwaukee Washington (2016), Darrell Riley of Milwaukee North (2015), Riley LaChance of Brookfield Central (2014), Duane Wilson of Dominican (2013), and Carrington Love of Pius XI Catholic (2012).

WSN Senior Basketball Awards are selected by staff.

Recent Boys Basketball Award Articles

Tag(s): News Archive  BBB News  Senior Awards  Mark Miller