skip navigation

Mallory Hoitink of Slinger selected as state's top senior shooter

03/24/2023, 1:00pm CDT
By Norbert Durst

Slinger's Mallory Hoitink has been selected as the top senior shooter as part of the WSN Senior Basketball Awards

Hoitink is a strong lefty sharpshooter who has a quick release and range which causes problems for her opponents. She is an outstanding spot-up shooter who also excels at using the dribble to create her own shot from behind the arc or a drive to the basket. 

She was named honorable mention WBCA All-State as a junior and senior. 

The 5-10 guard averaged 20 points, 4.7 rebounds, 1.7 assists, and 1.0 blocks per game as a senior for the Owls (9-16 overall). 

Hoitink went 67-for-167 (40.1%) from 3-point land and made 92 of 110 (83.6%) from the free throw line. 

She scored a career-best 43 points (6-8 on 3's) in a victory against West Bend East on December 6, 2022. 

Hoitink was voted unanimous first-team all-North Shore as a senior and was also named first-team all-league as a sophomore and junior. 

In her high school career, Mallory compiled 1,401 points with 214 three-pointers made while shooting 39.3 percent from behind the arc. 

She owns school records for career points, points in a game, three-pointers in a game, three-pointers in a career, most field goals made in a career, and best free throw percentage in a season.  

Hoitink will continue her career at NCAA Division III UW-Oshkosh to play for head coach Brad Fischer. Mallory had several NCAA Division I offers but chose to play for the D-III power.  

The finalists for the award were Hoitink, Sammi Beyer of Appleton East, Annyka Hellendrung of Waukesha West, Emily Jaenke of Fox Valley Lutheran, Annika Pluemer of Brookfield East, and Sophia Rampulla of Union Grove. 

Past winners of the award include Abbie Aalsma of Waupun (2022), Maddy Schreiber of Kimberly (2021), Bridget Froehlke of Wrightstown (2020), Shemera Williams of Milwaukee Academy of Science (2019), Shay Frederic of Hortonville (2018), Tori Martell of Somerset (2017), Dani Rhodes of Waukesha West (2016), Natisha Hiedeman of Green Bay Southwest (2015), Lydia Rohde of Brookfield Central (2014), Rachel Atchison of East Troy (2013), and Taylor Varsho of Marshfield (2012).

For the latest and most up to date girls' basketball news and recruiting information, follow Norbert on Twitter @NorbertDurst. Email story ideas, recruiting info, etc. to Norbert

Tag(s): News Archive  GBB News  Senior Awards  Norbert Durst