skip navigation

Updated list of state's all-time winningest football coaches

11/27/2023, 10:00pm CST
By Travis Wilson

Edgar's Jerry Sinz is second on the career wins list and this year captured his eight WIAA state title, also second all-time

The end of the football season is in the rearview mirror, which means it is time to update the football coaching wins list record book.

A total of 61 coaches in state history have at least 200 wins, the threshold to be included on the all-time list. Of those, 11 were active in the 2023 season.

Of course, the state's winningest coach continues on, as Saint Mary's Springs head man extended his career record to 514-116-2. The Ledgers were undefeated during the regular season in 2023 but fell to Kewaunee in Level 3 of the playoffs.

Second place belongs to Edgar's Jerry Sinz, who guided the Wildcats to a Division 7 state title, his eighth, as he has 470 victories and just 92 losses.

Third place also belongs to an active head coach, with Catholic Memorial's Bill Young getting his 400th career victory in the playoffs, as he currently sits at 402-124.

In a wild coincidence, Scott Erickson of Iola-Scandinavia and Scott Erickson of Hurley are tied on the list with 229 career victories. Ironically, they've only faced each other once, with Scott Erickson getting the win...of Iola-Scandinavia that is. The T-Birds took down the Northstars 35-6 in a 2020 culminating event game.

Two coaches reached the 200 career win mark this year and join the list, with Johnson Creek's Tim Wagner now at 207-149 for he Blue Jays. Wrightstown's Steve Klister guided the Tigers to a state runner-up finish this season, moving his record to 203-67. He coached part of his career in a co-head coach arrangement with first Bill Ehnerd and later Matt Binsfeld. 

Waunakee's Pat Rice remains the top coach in winning percentage (minimum 200 career wins), as he sports a a 0.886 career mark, winning 342 games with just 44 losses as the Warriors went 13-1 and settled for a Division 2 runner-up trophy in 2023.

Saint Mary's Springs' Bob Hyland still has the lead with nine WIAA state titles, joining the eight he captured in WISAA. Edgar's Jerry Sinz moved into solo second place with his eighth WIAA championship this fall. John Hoch of Lancaster and Pat Rice of Waunakee are second with seven. Bill Young has five WIAA titles to go with four in WISAA.

Records only include varsity wins as head coach. 

*denotes active coach 

About the Author

Travis Wilson serves as the General Manager, Football Editor, and contributing writer for other parts of the site. Wilson was selected as part of the Sports 40 Under 40 list by Coach & AD Magazine and the National High School Athletic Coaches Association for 2019. The Wisconsin Football Coaches Association (WFCA) named Travis the 2015 recipient of the Dave McClain Distinguished Service Award. He currently serves on the WFCA Executive Board as the Website and Communications Director and is a member of the Executive Board of the Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association. A graduate of Richland Center High School and Mount Mercy College in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, Travis was a three-sport athlete in high school (football, baseball, basketball) and currently resides in Reedsburg. You can follow him on Twitter at @travisWSN.

For the latest and most up to date football news and recruiting information, follow Travis on Twitter @travisWSN. Email story ideas, recruiting info, etc. to Travis at travis(at)

Tag(s): News Archive  News  Travis Wilson