skip navigation

WBCA announces Division 1 Boys Basketball All-State Team

03/19/2024, 12:15pm CDT

The 2024 WBCA Division 1 All-State Team is headlined by three repeat selections in Will Hornseth of De Pere, Nolan Minessale of Marquette and Xzavion Mitchell of Oshkosh North. 

Minessale (6-5) led Marquette to the WIAA Division 1 state title for the first time in school history. The University of St. Thomas recruit scored 29 points in the Hilltoppers' title-game win over Arrowhead. A two-time Greater Metro Conference Player of the Year, Minessale averaged 22.1 points, 6.6 rebounds and 4.6 assists as the Hilltoppers went 26-4.

Hornseth (6-8) helped De Pere to a 26-2 record and the Fox River Classic championship. The Player of the Year in the league averaged 16.6 points and 6.6 rebounds. He is headed to Northern Iowa on a NCAA Division I scholarship.

Mitchell (6-6) was chosen Player of the Year in the Fox Valley Association after helping Oshkosh North to a 20-6 record and the league title. Mitchell, who owns scholarship offers from Iowa State and Wisconsin, among others, averaged 25.7 points, 8.6 rebounds and 3.0 assists for the Spartans. 

Bennett Basich (6-4) helped Arrowhead to a 27-3 record, the Classic Eight title and a runner-up finish in the Division 1 State Tournament. The Green Bay recruit averaged 20.4 points, 6.2 rebounds and 3.9 assists for the Warhawks. He was voted Player of the Year in the Classic Eight.

Stevie Clark (6-6), who will play college basketball at Colgate, scored 1,979 career points for Oshkosh North. As a senior, he helped the Spartans to the FVA crown and averaged 22.4 points, 6.1 rebounds, 4.2 assists and 2.1 steals. Clark is a two-time first-team all-FVA selection. 

Brady Corso (6-1) was instrumental in leading Neenah to its third straight appearance in the WIAA State Tournament. The NCAA Division II St. Leo recruit is an outstanding ball handler and decision maker. The first-team all-FVA player averaged 22.0 points, 5.0 rebounds and 4.2 assists for the Rockets. 

Jack Daugherty (6-8) of Brookfield Central averaged 19.3 points, 9.6 rebounds and 2.6 assists. The Illinois State recruit made 203 three-point baskets during his four-year high school career and scored 1,348 points. 

Chris Davis Jr. (6-5), one of four juniors on the first-team along with Mitchell, Zach Kinziger and Brooks Hinson, led the state in scoring at a whopping 40.8 ppg. The Big Eight Conference Player of the Year scored 980 points as a junior and helped Sun Prairie West to the league title and a 19-6 record. 

Tim Franks (6-5) was voted Player of the Year in the North Shore Conference after helping Homestead to a 20-7 record. Franks averaged 27.6 points, 7.9 rebounds and 2.0 assists. The four-year varsity performer and St. Thomas recruit finished his prep career with 1,923 points. 

Brooks Hinson (6-2) of Marshfield was named Player of the Year in the Wisconsin Valley Conference. He led the Tigers to a 25-3 record and the league title by averaging 16.8 points, 4.4 rebounds and 3.0 assists. He owns NCAA DII offers from Northern Michigan and Winona State. 

Zach Kinziger (6-4) has committed to the University of Wisconsin and was a key player for De Pere's 26-2 squad. The sharpshooting backcourt ace averaged 19.9 points, 5.3 rebounds and 3.8 assists for the Redbirds and earned first-team all-FRCC laurels. 

Manasseh Stackhouse (6-9), who will play next season at Milwaukee, averaged a double/double for Kenosha Indian Trail at 25.5 ppg and 14.0 rpg. He shared Player of the Year recognition in the Southeast Conference with Termarion Brumby of Racine Case. 

Division 1 WBCA All-State
Bennett Basich, Sr., Arrowhead
Stevie Clark, Sr., Oshkosh North
Brady Corso, Sr., Neenah
Jack Daugherty, Sr., Brookfield Central
Chris Davis Jr., Jr., Sun Prairie West
Tim Franks, Sr., Homestead
Brooks Hinson, Jr., Marshfield
Will Hornseth, Sr., De Pere
Zach Kinziger, Jr., De Pere
Nolan Minessale, Sr., Marquette
Xzavion Mitchell, Jr., Oshkosh North
Manasseh Stackhouse, Sr., Kenosha Indian Trail

Honorable Mention 
Termarion Brumby, Sr., Racine Case
Grant Chandonais, Jr., Stevens Point
Will Garlock, Sr., Middleton
Jace Gilbert, Sr., Arrowhead
Amare Hereford, Soph., Beloit Memorial
Lukas Hoffman, Sr., Oconomowoc
Ky'moni Hunt, Sr., Milwaukee Hamilton
Cooper Jesperson, Jr., Eau Claire Memorial
Cahlil Jones, Soph., Germantown
Aidan Konop, Sr., Sussex Hamilton
Joe LaChapell, Sr., Appleton East
Drew Murphy, Jr., Verona
Trevor Polite, Jr., Homestead
Will Stuckey, Sr., Kettle Moraine
Keegan Van Kauwenberg, Jr., Kaukauna
Gavin Van Wie, Sr., Sun Prairie East
Keaton Frisch, Sr., Waunakee

Boys Basketball News

Tag(s): News Archive  BBB News  All-State