skip navigation

Wisconsin Lutheran's Knueppel chosen as state's top senior shooter

03/25/2024, 12:15pm CDT
By Mark Miller

Kon Knueppel of Wisconsin Lutheran has been selected as the top senior Shooter as part of the WSN Senior Basketball Awards

Knueppel led Wisconsin Lutheran to the WIAA Division 2 state championship and a 30-0 record. The Vikings were the lone team in Wisconsin to finish with an undefeated record.  

The 6-foot-6 guard and Duke University recruit averaged 25.9 points per game and shot 59 percent from the field and 85 percent from the line. He also made 70-of-177 tries from three-point range for 40 percent. 

The Mr. Basketball-award winner finished his brilliant four-year high school career with 1,978 points, 808 rebounds and 398 assists. In addition, he made 229-of-497 tries from outside the arc for 46 percent. 

Finalists for the award were Knueppel, Logan Bahr of Luther, Joey Butz of River Falls, Tim Franks of Homestead and Derrick (DJ) Johnson of Dominican. 

Past winners of the award include Milan Moncilovic of Pewaukee (2023), Miles Barnstable of Howards Grove (2022), Joe Reuter of Chippewa Falls (2021), Aidan Clarey of Brookfield Academy (2020), Henry Noone of Lourdes Academy (2019), Drew Blair of Stevens Point (2018), Ryan Krueger of Hortonville (2017), Trev Anderson of Stevens Point (2016), Brevin Pritzl of De Pere (2015), Brady Ellingson of Sussex Hamilton (2014), Matt Thomas of Onalaska (2013), and Tyson Kalien of Chippewa Falls (2012).

WSN Senior Basketball Awards are selected by staff.

Recent Boys Basketball Award Articles

Tag(s): News Archive  BBB News  Senior Awards  Mark Miller