skip navigation

Jack Nelson of Stoughton selected to receive Joe Thomas Award

11/20/2019, 11:00am CST
By Travis Wilson

Wisconsin Sports Network and are happy to announce Stoughton's Jack Nelson as the 2019 recipient of the Joe Thomas Award as the most outstanding senior offensive lineman in Wisconsin, part of the WSN Senior Football Awards.

The son of a former Badgers player, Nelson has continued to get bigger and stronger, and it shows on the football field, where he was a WFCA All-State pick as a junior.

Already playing with outstanding technique, his added strength allowed him to dominate opponents last year, as he would get his hands on a defender, and it was over. A U.S. Army All-American Bowl selection, he is a three-time Lineman of the Year in the Badger-South who will head to Wisconsin next year.

"He is the next Joe Thomas in my opinion and I think this award is very fitting for what Jack has accomplished and what he is set to do at UW this winter," said Stoughton coach Dan Prahl.

Nelson recently repeated as a Large School All-State selection by the Wisconsin Football Coaches Association.

Finalists for the award were Nelson, Tanor Bortolini of Kewaunee, Evan Buss of Kimberly, Braden Doyle of Bay Port, Sean Timmis of Marquette, and Trey Wedig of Kettle Moraine.

Past winners include Waunakee's Jake Irwin (2009), Wisconsin Rapids' Frank Vruwink (2010), Waukesha West's Connor Stefanski (2011), Wisconsin Rapids' Hayden Biegel (2012), Monona Grove's Jaden Gault (2013), Seymour's Jon Dietzen (2014), Arrowhead's Ben Bredeson (2015), Middleton's Kayden Lyles (2016), Waukesha West's Bryce Teixeira (2017), and Fond du Lac's Andrew Stone (2018).

The award is named after Joe Thomas, a graduate of Brookfield Central High School now playing in the NFL with the Cleveland Browns. Thomas was a three-sport athlete in high school, lettering all four years in football, basketball, and track and field while also being named to the Honor Roll all four years. He started 37 games at left tackle for the Badgers and won the Outland Trophy after his senior season. After an All-American career at UW, Thomas was selected to the NFL Pro Bowl each of his first ten years in the league and is a sure-fire Hall of Famer.

The voting panel for the WSN Senior Football Awards consisted of:  Travis Wilson, WSN General Manager and Head Football Writer;  Norbert Durst, WSN Content Manager; Dennis Semrau, ESPN Madison; B.J. DeGroot, WSCO The Score 95.3 in Appleton; Curt Hogg, NOW Newspapers; Dan Barwick, WSN Contributor; Colton Wilson, WSN Content Producer; Fan Vote

About the Author

Travis Wilson serves as the General Manager, Football Editor, and contributing writer for other parts of the site. Wilson was selected as part of the Sports 40 Under 40 list by Coach & AD Magazine and the National High School Athletic Coaches Association for 2019. The Wisconsin Football Coaches Association (WFCA) named Travis the 2015 recipient of the Dave McClain Distinguished Service Award. He currently serves on the WFCA Executive Board as the Website and Communications Director and is a member of the Executive Board of the Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association. A graduate of Richland Center High School and Mount Mercy College in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, Travis was a three-sport athlete in high school (football, baseball, basketball) and currently resides in Reedsburg. You can follow him on Twitter at @travisWSN.

For the latest and most up to date football news and recruiting information, follow Travis on Twitter @travisWSN. Email story ideas, recruiting info, etc. to Travis at travis(at)

Football News

Tag(s): News Archive  News  Travis Wilson  Senior FB Awards