skip navigation

Ayo Adebogun of Homestead selected to receive Tim Krumrie Award

11/25/2020, 8:00am CST
By Travis Wilson

Wisconsin Sports Network and are proud to announce Homestead's Ayo Adebogun as the 2020 recipient of the Tim Krumrie Award as the most outstanding senior defensive lineman in Wisconsin, part of the WSN Senior Football Awards.

Homestead's Ayo Adebogun burst onto the varsity scene in a big way in 2019, earning WFCA Large School All-State recognition after finishing among state leaders with 31 tackles for loss and 16 sacks.

He's been near unblockable again this season, with 52 tackles, 21 tackles for loss, and 7.5 sacks in just eight games. His initial burst off the line of scrimmage is as explosive as anyone in the state, and that athletic ability is his greatest strength right now.

"I feel strongly that Ayo is a great candidate," said Homestead co-host Drake Zortman. "He is playing his best football at the end of the year, which is exactly what you would like to have happen. Ayo is a tremendous young man. He is very honest and thoughtful, and is a phenomenal teammate and leader in our program."

Adebogun has given a verbal commitment to Wisconsin after receiving an offer from the Badgers and head coach Paul Chryst.

Finalists for the award were Adebogun, Noah Jessup of Franklin, Harrison Kielar of Brookfield East, Hayden Nelson of Brookfield Central, Brian Radish of Muskego, and Adam Thompson of Northwestern

Past winners of the award include Kimberly's Mike Hardy (2009), Edgar's Jeff Raymond (2010), Marshfield's Trevor Peterson (2011), Brookfield East's Alec James (2012), Arrowhead's Billy Hirschfeld (2013), Homestead's David Pfaff (2014), Amherst's Tyler Biadasz (2015), Franklin's Hawk Wimmer (2016), Kimberly's Boyd Dietzen (2017), Waunakee's Reed Ryan (2018), and Stratford's Ben Barten (2019).

The award is named after Tim Krumrie, a graduate of Mondovi High School who went on to play for the University of Wisconsin and 12 seasons in the National Football League. Krumrie walked-on to the Badger football team, but quickly made an impression. He led the Badgers in tackles all four years, and was a three-time All-Big Ten selection. He still holds the all-time record for solo tackles and is third on the total tackles list. Drafted in the 10th round by the Cincinnati Bengals, Krumrie played in all 16 games as a rookie and went on to start 161 games in his career. He made the Pro Bowl in 1987 and 1988, and helped the Bengals to the Super Bowl in 1989. He served as the defensive line coach for the Kansas City Chiefs for four seasons after three years with the Buffalo Bills and eight seasons with the Cincinnati Bengals.

The voting panel for the WSN Senior Football Awards consisted of:  Travis Wilson, WSN General Manager and Head Football Writer;  Norbert Durst, WSN Content Manager; Dennis Semrau, ESPN Madison; B.J. DeGroot, WSCO The Score 95.3 in Appleton; Curt Hogg, NOW Newspapers; Dan Barwick, WSN Contributor; Colton Wilson, WSN Content Producer; Fan Vote

About the Author

Travis Wilson serves as the General Manager, Football Editor, and contributing writer for other parts of the site. Wilson was selected as part of the Sports 40 Under 40 list by Coach & AD Magazine and the National High School Athletic Coaches Association for 2019. The Wisconsin Football Coaches Association (WFCA) named Travis the 2015 recipient of the Dave McClain Distinguished Service Award. He currently serves on the WFCA Executive Board as the Website and Communications Director and is a member of the Executive Board of the Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association. A graduate of Richland Center High School and Mount Mercy College in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, Travis was a three-sport athlete in high school (football, baseball, basketball) and currently resides in Reedsburg. You can follow him on Twitter at @travisWSN.

For the latest and most up to date football news and recruiting information, follow Travis on Twitter @travisWSN. Email story ideas, recruiting info, etc. to Travis at travis(at)

Football News

Tag(s): News Archive  News  Travis Wilson  Senior FB Awards