skip navigation

WSN Spring Football Awards: Defense Preseason Watch List

03/23/2021, 1:30pm CDT
By Travis Wilson

Senior Trace Grundahl (16) and junoir Deven Magli (23) form one of the top secondary duos in the state

Wisconsin Sports Network will be recognizing spring football players in this unique season with WSN Spring Football Awards. Similar to our normal WSN Senior Football Awards, the spring awards will recognize the outstanding players around the state. However, these awards are open to players from all grades, not just seniors.

Over the course of the season we will provide watch lists, semi-finalists, finalists, and winners for the following categories: Offensive Skill player, Offensive Lineman, Defensive Player. The preseason watch lists will be trimmed down to 15 semi-finalists after Week 4, with five finalists for each award chosen prior to Week 7. The winners will be announced following the completion of the spring season.


First Name Last Name School Position
Braelon Allen Fond du Lac LB
Briar Barlind Kimberly DB
Cody Brown Winnebago Lutheran DL
Caden Brunell Columbus LB
Rudy Detweiler Stoughton LB
Aiden Diehl Turner LB
Kyle Dietzen Omro LB
Nolan Dunn Middleton LB
Brooks Empey Stoughton DL
Tyler Fahey Belleville LB
Grant Gerber Eau Claire Memorial DL
Skylar Gill-Howard Greenfield LB
Logan Graff Fond du Lac DL
Trace Grundahl DeForest DB
Mekhi Gullens Sun Prairie LB
Zach Gunderson McFarland DL
Isaac Hamm Sun Prairie DL
Max Harcy La Crosse Logan LB
Luke Hessanauer Milton DL
Collin Hlinak Kewaunee LB
Jacob Hoeppner South Milwaukee DL
Brandon Hoppman Benton/Scales Mound/Shullsburg DB
Christian Izard Brown Deer LB
Avery Johnson Lomira DL
Wes King Appleton North DL
Deven Magli DeForest DB
Anthony Millard Fond du Lac DL
Jayden Montgomery Bay Port LB
Jonah O’Connor Stoughton DB
Evan Pauly Arcadia LB
Jaxson Pier Belleville DB
Ethan Post Appleton North LB
Isaiah Price Racine Park LB
James Rae Verona DL
Hank Reader Bangor LB
Logan Richards Lodi LB
Jacob Sale Monona Grove DL
Jack Severin Kewaunee LB
Connor Shefchik Green Bay Preble DB
Charlie Siewert Arcadia DL
Miguel Smith Greendale DB
Colton Tranel Cuba City LB
Elliot Turrentine Whitnall DB
Ryland Wall Holmen LB
Griffin Wiegel Kimberly DB
Jaloni Williams Greenfield DL
Sam Wood Fond du Lac DL
Chase Yaeger Black River Falls LB
Mason Young Evansville LB
Austin Zastrow Arcadia LB
Wilson Zuck Appleton North LB

About the Author

Travis Wilson serves as the General Manager, Football Editor, and contributing writer for other parts of the site. Wilson was selected as part of the Sports 40 Under 40 list by Coach & AD Magazine and the National High School Athletic Coaches Association for 2019. The Wisconsin Football Coaches Association (WFCA) named Travis the 2015 recipient of the Dave McClain Distinguished Service Award. He currently serves on the WFCA Executive Board as the Website and Communications Director and is a member of the Executive Board of the Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association. A graduate of Richland Center High School and Mount Mercy College in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, Travis was a three-sport athlete in high school (football, baseball, basketball) and currently resides in Reedsburg. You can follow him on Twitter at @travisWSN.

For the latest and most up to date football news and recruiting information, follow Travis on Twitter @travisWSN. Email story ideas, recruiting info, etc. to Travis at travis(at)

Tag(s): News Archive  News  Travis Wilson  Senior FB Awards