skip navigation

John Anderson Award Finalists for top senior linebacker

10/31/2013, 11:45am CDT
By Travis Wilson

The John Anderson Award is given annually to the state's top senior linebacker as part of the WSN Senior Football Awards. The award is named after John Anderson, a former Waukesha South standout who went on to star at the University of Michigan and later with the Green Bay Packers.

The pre-season watch list was trimmed down to 25 semi-finalists, and five finalists for the award have now been selected. Winners are announced the week of the state finals.

John Anderson Award Finalists:

Brock Allen, DeForest - The Norskies have always prided themselves on defense, and this year's group is as good as any. Allen was the leader of the defense according to DeForest head coach Mike Minick. "He is the heart and soul of our team and the leading tackler on our defense," Minick added. In 9 regular season games this year Allen recorded 66 tackles, with 9 tackles for loss.

Dominic Cizauskas, Mukwonago - Cizauskas has wowed observers on the football field, basketball court, and track & field, and is one of the most physically advanced players at the position in some time. Not only is he an outstanding athlete, he plays with great football IQ and tenacity. As a senior he recorded 121 tackles, 21 tackles for loss, and 7 sacks during the regular season. "Dom is the best linebacker I have ever seen in high school," said head coach Clay Iverson. "He holds the career, single-season, and single-game tackles record at the school." Cizauskas is committed to Wisconsin.

Kyle Mrozinski, Ashwaubenon - The Jaguars are unbeaten and captured the FRCC title this season with a versatile offense and stingy defense. Mrozinski is the rare three-year starter and three-year captain. "He outworks everyone, gets superb grades, and is admired by the entire staff," said head coach Mark Jonas. During his senior season he led the team in tackles with 90, including 21 for loss. He also tied for the state lead with 7 forced fumbles.

Andrew Schiessl, Menasha - Schiessl is a multi-year starter for the Bluejays, who was named the VFA-south Linebacker and Defensive Player of the Year despite missing one game with mono. In 9 games, he recorded 120 tackles, 18 tackles for loss, 3 sacks, and forced 4 fumbles. "Andrew is the fastest and smartest linebacker we've ever had at Menasha. He is almost impossible to combo block and teams have to get offensive linemen on him immediately to have any chance to block him," said head coach Jeramie Korth.

Matt Seitz, Arrowhead - Seitz is the on-field leader for the Warhawks talented defensive unit, making the calls and checks to keep everyone in line. "He is the conductor of a complex scheme and keeps the entire defense clicking," said head coach Greg Malling. "He's isn't the kind of linebacker who sometimes makes tackles and sometimes doesn't - Matt makes tackles every time." He led the team in tackles this season with 78, including 15 for loss and 3 sacks.

Tag(s): News Archive  News  Travis Wilson  Senior FB Awards