skip navigation

Dominic Cizauskas selected to receive John Anderson Award

11/20/2013, 8:00pm CST
By Travis Wilson

Wisconsin Sports Network and are happy to announce Mukwonago's Dominic Cizauskas as the 2013 recipient of the John Anderson Award as the most outstanding senior linebacker in Wisconsin, part of the WSN Senior Football Awards. He was a unanimous selection.

Cizauskas has wowed observers on the football field, basketball court, and track & field, and is one of the most physically advanced players at the position in some time. Not only is he an outstanding athlete, he plays with great football IQ and tenacity.

As a senior he recorded 121 tackles, 21 tackles for loss, and 7 sacks during the regular season.

"Dom is the best linebacker I have ever seen in high school," said head coach Clay Iverson. "He holds the career, single-season, and single-game tackles record at the school."

Cizauskas is committed to Wisconsin. This week he was also named to the WFCA First Team All-State and Defensive Player of the Year.

Finalists for the award were Cizauskas, Brock Allen of DeForest, Kyle Mrozinski of Ashwaubenon, Andrew Schiessl of Menasha, and Matt Seitz of Arrowhead.

Past winners include Arrowhead's Derek Landisch (2010), Wisconsin Rapids' Vince Biegel (2011), and Green Bay Southwest's Nathan Paup (2012).

The award is named after John Anderson, a former Waukesha South standout who received All-Conference and All-State recognition on both offense and defense for the Blackshirts. He would go on to star for the University of Michigan for four seasons where he twice earned All-Big Ten honors. Anderson would be selected by the Green Bay Packers in the first round of the 1978 NFL Draft and go on to a successful 12-year career. Upon his retirement he was the Packers all-time leader in tackles with 1,020 (the Packer only have stats compiled since 1975) and still holds that record today. He was named to the NFL's All-Decade team for the 1980's and the Packers Hall of Fame in 1996.

The voting panel for the WSN Senior Football Awards consisted of:  Travis Wilson, WSN Content Manager and Head Football Writer;  Nicholas Kartos, WSN President and Founder; Norbert Durst, WSN Content Producer; Dennis Semrau, Wisconsin State Journal; Justin Hull, WSCO The Score 95.3 in Appleton; JR Radcliffe, NOW Newspapers; Dan Barwick, WSN Contributor

Football News

Tag(s): News Archive  News  Travis Wilson  Senior FB Awards