skip navigation

Kevin Stemke Award Pre-Season Watch List

08/22/2014, 11:45am CDT
By Travis Wilson

The Kevin Stemke Award is presented annually to the state's top senior kicker or punter as part of the WSN Senior Football Awards. The award is named after former Green Bay Preble and University of Wisconsin standout Kevin Stemke. At Wisconsin, Stemke was presented with the Ray Guy Award as the nation's top punter and holds UW records for highest punting average in a career (43.5) and total punting yards (10,660) 
The pre-season list will be trimmed down to 25 semi-finalists halfway through the year, with five finalists chosen at the start of the playoffs. Winners are announced the week of the state finals.

Kevin Stemke Award Watch List

First Name Last Name Team
Connor Allen Brookfield East
Matt Brown Necedah
Shane Coker Athens
Jake Ede Mondovi
Nathan Erickson New Berlin Eisenhower
Hunter Fortney North Crawford
Joe Fugate Grafton
Tanner Gaetz Colby
Gerry Gilles Brown Deer
Nick Hanson Verona
Zach Hintze Saint Mary's Springs
Zach Hoffman D.C. Everest
Troy Laufenberg Waunakee
Tyler Marguth Arrowhead
Jordan Orme Northwestern
Cameron Pedersen Regis
Alex Piehler Racine Horlick
Shawn Prokash West De Pere
Jake Reif Stratford
Carter Schmitz Germantown
Pete Schuler Kenosha St. Joseph
Kaleb Wolf Edgar
Paul Zech Sauk Prairie

Pre-season watch lists are compiled from all-conference teams, stats leaders, film evaluations, WSN Player Rankings, and coach input. Players do not have to be on the pre-season list to be considered for the semi-final or finals list.

Tag(s): News Archive  News  Travis Wilson  Senior FB Awards