skip navigation

Ben Bredeson of Arrowhead selected to receive Joe Thomas Award

11/18/2015, 11:30am CST
By Travis Wilson

Wisconsin Sports Network and are happy to announce Arrowhead's Ben Bredeson as the 2015 recipient of the Joe Thomas Award as the most outstanding senior offensive lineman in Wisconsin, part of the WSN Senior Football Awards.

Bredeson is a two-time WFCA All-State selection, ranked in the top 50 nationally by most recruiting services, and chose Michigan over scholarship offers from a Who's Who of college programs.

He's a dominating run blocker but athletic enough to play on the edge with good knee bend and agility. Many observers feel he is the best offensive lineman to come out of Wisconsin in many years.

“His play and his character are this year, like the three before, unbelievable,” said head coach Greg Malling. “He is the consummate teammate, an incredible mentor for the younger players, and a dominant force on the game field.”

Finalists for the award were Bredeson, Mike Caliendo of Brookfield East, Sam Heckel of Waukesha West, Spencer Kanz of Luxemburg-Casco, Sam Ruetz of Franklin, and Cole Van Lanen of Bay Port.

Past winners include Waunakee's Jake Irwin (2009), Wisconsin Rapids' Frank Vruwink (2010), Waukesha West's Connor Stefanski (2011), Wisconsin Rapids' Hayden Biegel (2012), Monona Grove's Jaden Gault (2013), and Seymour's Jon Dietzen.

The award is named after Joe Thomas, a graduate of Brookfield Central High School now playing in the NFL with the Cleveland Browns. Thomas was a three-sport athlete in high school, lettering all four years in football, basketball, and track and field while also being named to the Honor Roll all four years. He started 37 games at left tackle for the Badgers and won the Outland Trophy after his senior season. Thomas was drafted 3rd overall by the Browns in 2007, and has been selected to the Pro Bowl each of his first seven seasons. 

The voting panel for the WSN Senior Football Awards consisted of:  Travis Wilson, WSN General Manager and Head Football Writer;  Norbert Durst, WSN Content Manager; Dennis Semrau, ESPN Madison; Justin Hull, WSCO The Score 95.3 in Appleton; JR Radcliffe, NOW Newspapers; Dan Barwick, WSN Contributor; Jason Cox, Eau Claire Leader-Telegram; Fan Vote

Recent Senior Football Award Articles

Recent Football Articles

Tag(s): News Archive  News  Travis Wilson  Senior FB Awards