skip navigation

Andrew Stone of Fond du Lac selected to receive Joe Thomas Award

11/14/2018, 11:00am CST
By Travis Wilson

Wisconsin Sports Network and are happy to announce Fond du Lac's Andrew Stone as the 2018 recipient of the Joe Thomas Award as the most outstanding senior offensive lineman in Wisconsin, part of the WSN Senior Football Awards.

Stone is a two-way interior standout who is the most devastating trap blocker in the state. He’s not content to just block someone when he pulls around, he looks for the de-cleater, and often delivers.

Stone was a First Team All-Conference pick in the VFA-South as an offensive lineman the past two seasons, adding league Offensive Lineman of the Year recognition this year. The Wisconsin Football Coaches Association recently selected Stone as a First Team All-State choice.

He’s an elite track and field athlete, winning the shot put and taking second in the discus as a junior.

Finalists for the award were Stone, Liam Fahey of Pulaski, Ben Hoitink of Slinger, Ben Johnson of Sun Prairie, Alec Mejchar of Brookfield Central, and Logan Zschernitz of Spencer/Columbus Catholic.

Past winners include Waunakee's Jake Irwin (2009), Wisconsin Rapids' Frank Vruwink (2010), Waukesha West's Connor Stefanski (2011), Wisconsin Rapids' Hayden Biegel (2012), Monona Grove's Jaden Gault (2013), Seymour's Jon Dietzen (2014), Arrowhead's Ben Bredeson (2015), Middleton's Kayden Lyles (2016), and Waukesha West's Bryce Teixeira.

The award is named after Joe Thomas, a graduate of Brookfield Central High School now playing in the NFL with the Cleveland Browns. Thomas was a three-sport athlete in high school, lettering all four years in football, basketball, and track and field while also being named to the Honor Roll all four years. He started 37 games at left tackle for the Badgers and won the Outland Trophy after his senior season. Thomas was drafted 3rd overall by the Browns in 2007, and has been selected to the Pro Bowl each of his first seven seasons. 

The voting panel for the WSN Senior Football Awards consisted of:  Travis Wilson, WSN General Manager and Head Football Writer;  Norbert Durst, WSN Content Manager; Dennis Semrau, ESPN Madison; B.J. DeGroot, WSCO The Score 95.3 in Appleton; Curt Hogg, NOW Newspapers; Dan Barwick, WSN Contributor; Colton Wilson, WSN Content Producer; Fan Vote

Recent Senior Football Award Articles

Recent Football Articles

Tag(s): News Archive  News  Travis Wilson  Senior FB Awards