skip navigation

Chimere Dike of Waukesha North selected to receive Al Toon Award

11/20/2019, 10:00am CST
By Travis Wilson

Wisconsin Sports Network and are happy to announce Waukesha North's Chimere Dike as the 2019 recipient of the Al Toon Award as the most outstanding senior wide receiver in Wisconsin, part of the WSN Senior Football Awards.

Dike almost never left the field for the North Stars, making an impact in every facet of the game. Despite facing near-constant double and triple teams, he caught 59 passes for 962 yards and six touchdowns in nine regular season games.

He also played at running back quite a bit, going for 318 yards and six touchdowns on the ground. He was a full-time starter on defense with 93 tackles and a couple interceptions as well. He finishes his four-year career with 206 catches, 3,033 yards, and 27 touchdowns before heading to Wisconsin next season.

Dike was recently named to the WFCA Large School All-State team for a second consecutive season.

Finalists for the award were Dike, Joe Kasprzak of Hartford, Michael Navis of Cedar Grove-Belgium, Collin Schaefer of Sun Prairie, and Conner Wnek of Kimberly.

Past winners of the award include Madison Memorial's Lechein Neblett (2009), Monona Grove's Zach Zweifel (2010), Montello/Princeton/Green Lake's Matt Sosinsky (2011), Black River Falls' Jordan Millis (2012), Greendale's Mitchell Brees (2013), Marquette's Jake Matkovich (2014), Kimberly's Jordan Janssen (2015), Oconomowoc's Zach Clayton (2016), Lake Mills' Hayden Iverson (2017), and Waunakee's Sawyer Maly (2018).

The award is named after Al Toon, a graduate of the University of Wisconsin who still ranks in the top three or four of almost all game, season, and career receiving categories. Toon was a first-round draft choice by the New York Jets who led the NFL in catches in 1988 with 93. Injuries forced him to retire early from the NFL, but he has been a fixture back in the Madison area for many years. 

The voting panel for the WSN Senior Football Awards consisted of:  Travis Wilson, WSN General Manager and Head Football Writer;  Norbert Durst, WSN Content Manager; Dennis Semrau, ESPN Madison; B.J. DeGroot, WSCO The Score 95.3 in Appleton; Curt Hogg, NOW Newspapers; Dan Barwick, WSN Contributor; Colton Wilson, WSN Content Producer; Fan Vote

About the Author

Travis Wilson serves as the General Manager, Football Editor, and contributing writer for other parts of the site. Wilson was selected as part of the Sports 40 Under 40 list by Coach & AD Magazine and the National High School Athletic Coaches Association for 2019. The Wisconsin Football Coaches Association (WFCA) named Travis the 2015 recipient of the Dave McClain Distinguished Service Award. He currently serves on the WFCA Executive Board as the Website and Communications Director and is a member of the Executive Board of the Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association. A graduate of Richland Center High School and Mount Mercy College in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, Travis was a three-sport athlete in high school (football, baseball, basketball) and currently resides in Reedsburg. You can follow him on Twitter at @travisWSN.

For the latest and most up to date football news and recruiting information, follow Travis on Twitter @travisWSN. Email story ideas, recruiting info, etc. to Travis at travis(at)

Tag(s): News Archive  News  Travis Wilson  Senior FB Awards